We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Manager with a bad attitude”
Review of Roti

Roti
Ranked #125 of 829 Restaurants in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $32
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Old meets new at Norwich���s Roti, a sublime Indian restaurant situated just five minutes from the city centre. Great care has gone in to the creation of the Roti dining room, at one time a traditional pub but now a clean, sleek space in which modern comfort is as central to the design as the look, intended to bring to mind the old gentlemen���s clubs of the Empire era. Booking is essential as Roti tends to get very busy, especially on Friday and Saturday evenings when locals flock for food before letting their hair down in the bars and clubs in town. It���s easy to see why this place is so popular, not only is the service friendly but Roti���s food is superb, earning plentiful good reviews from internet reviewers and five stars from the Norwich Evening News. Banned from using artificial additives, the kitchen relies only on natural ingredients, some imported from India for authenticity, to produce flavoursome and authentic Bangladeshi and Indian dishes.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Manager with a bad attitude”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

May be we caught the manager on a bad day but his attitude was so bad that we left without eating. Also they seemed to be inconvenience with the presence of a child. Would not recommend this restaurant for its' service, cannot comment on the food. To be fair, the waiters were very nice.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NorwichGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    66
    21
    13
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best home style food ever!”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The Roti Resturant is without doubt the best I've ever eaten in this country. We had three different curries all of which were surperb with tasty well flavoured side dishes. The owner and his staff were friendly and informative about the menu and also made helpful suggestions. As my father is disabled, the staff gave us a table that was accessible - excellent.

The staff were attentive and really made the experience of eating in their resturant a pleasure, I would certainly recomend this resturant, you will not be disappointed. It was fairly priced and excellent value for money as well as being a very well run resturant. Thanks for such a relaxed and tasty meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Another visit”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We have been to Roti a few times now and always get a warm welcome. The staff are very helpful and friendly. On there advise we try new dishes to us, and we have not been disappointed. The food is excellent, try the green pepper and prawn starter, and one of there specials with there good boiled rice.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Without doubt the best Indian Food in Norwich”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This elegantly decorated restaurant in Norwich is a real gem, the spicing in their dishes is authentic and gives the discerning spice foodie a treat as you can appreciate the complex layers of spices and chilli/ginger/garlic in some of the more powerful menu items. The standard of the food is exceptional.There are Unique touches such as the homemade chutneys and the delicious onion salad. I believe that this place sets the standard for Indian and also genuine Bangladeshi food in East Anglia.
We as a family visit when ever we can, we and our children enjoy the friendly welcome we receive every time. The authentic dishes from Bangladesh with an exciting array of unfamiliar ingredients are a real treat, and a welcome change from more standard menu choices.
if you are planning to eat an Indian meal this is the place to book!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great meal and service”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Child friendly staff. Lovely food, cut above the norm for Norwich. Specialities are interesting. Fully recommend. Helpful to have parking outside.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roti also viewed

Norwich, Norfolk
 
Norwich, Norfolk
 

Been to Roti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing