We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Meal”
Review of Roti

Roti
Ranked #125 of 829 Restaurants in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $32
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Old meets new at Norwich���s Roti, a sublime Indian restaurant situated just five minutes from the city centre. Great care has gone in to the creation of the Roti dining room, at one time a traditional pub but now a clean, sleek space in which modern comfort is as central to the design as the look, intended to bring to mind the old gentlemen���s clubs of the Empire era. Booking is essential as Roti tends to get very busy, especially on Friday and Saturday evenings when locals flock for food before letting their hair down in the bars and clubs in town. It���s easy to see why this place is so popular, not only is the service friendly but Roti���s food is superb, earning plentiful good reviews from internet reviewers and five stars from the Norwich Evening News. Banned from using artificial additives, the kitchen relies only on natural ingredients, some imported from India for authenticity, to produce flavoursome and authentic Bangladeshi and Indian dishes.
Norfolk
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Meal”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Just got back from dining at the Roti tonight for the first time.
Lovely greeting and very attentive staff but not over the top. Fabulous food with great portion sizes at a very reasonable price. Plenty of meat in the dishes, I had the chicken dhansak and the meat was lovely and moist.
The place is spotlessly clean and the toilets are very clean although the upstairs toilets are freezing ( was only 1 degree outside though)
Will be returning. Thanks guys!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NorfolkTalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imamu923, Owner at Roti, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Hi Norfolk Talia
Thank you very much for your review. Nice to know you've enjoyed the Dansak. On your next visit I'll sagest you should try one of Roti's Bangladeshi dishes.
See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    66
    21
    13
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Lovely place for a night out, have been a few times now and plan to go again!
Wonderful food, super service and good value!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IU2011, Owner at Roti, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Hi Sam J

Many thanks for your short and sharp comment, your comment will be seen by thousand of TripAdvisor visitor And your review will guid our guest to carract vanue, so they can enjoy our good freshly prepared Bangladeshi & Indian food

See you very soon

Good luck

Sayfa and Maz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“My new favourite curry restaurant in Norwich.”
Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Like many people, I found my favourite curry restaurant, and loyally return, year after year. My favourite has never let me down, but I tried the Roti tonight. I went with my friend andwe where warmly welcomed, and shown to a table by I think the owner, who charmed us with his warmth and sense of humour.
The Roti is tastefully decorated, and the lighting is just right. The food was truly excellent, and the main course portions were very generous. All of us really enjoyed the food, indeed the food was so good it killed the conversation!!
I will be back again and again, and cannot recommend this restaurant highly enough.

Helpful?
Thank jaydeejnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IU2011, Owner at Roti, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Hello Jaydeepjnr

Thank you for your true comment.

Great to know we're your favourite restaurant also very nice to here you and your friends enjoued our food and liked the decoration.

Many Thanks to you and your friends for supporting the business.
See you soon.

Best wishes to you / family and friends

Sayfa / Maz @ Roti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“My favourite Indian restaurant.....”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Firstly, it has to be the food. Excellent at the Roti - and if you like it on the spicy side, go in and try the chicken Naga. I have to drive 250 miles from Bristol to enjoy my favourite Indian dish! The staff are friendly, courteous and efficient. A lovely restaurant which never disappoints.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeK186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IU2011, Owner at Roti, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Hi Mike

It's so so nice to have your true comments about our food and service, the boys in the kitchen and in the dinning area now working with there head up with great dignity. Wish you have safe from Bristol to Norwich.

Thank you.
Best wishes

Sayfa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Stunning, spectacular & spicilicious!”
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

This is the best Indian restaurant in Norwich without a doubt, and I've tried them all. From the warmest welcome and the fabulous food to the handshake when you leave. I read some of the negative reviews and agree, it is a disgruntled ex employee, shame on him. I have been going to the restaurant with my family and friends since it opened a few years ago and have never been disappointed.
This is a first class restaurant with first class food. If you haven't been, go, you won't be disappointed. The lamb urebisi is to die for.

Helpful?
Thank NCFC4EVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IU2011, Owner at Roti, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Hello NCFC4EVER

We like to thank you for taking your valuable time to write this review. Comments like this encourage us to work even harder at the same time it's makes us all forget the hardship of days work. a BIG Thanks.

Best wishes
Sayfa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roti also viewed

Norwich, Norfolk
 
Norwich, Norfolk
 

Been to Roti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing