We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value meal in Norwich?”
Review of Madder Kitchen

Madder Kitchen
Ranked #83 of 856 Restaurants in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $24
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Madder Kitchen blends delicious, vibrant flavours with seasonal ingredients. Our menu is heavily influenced by our travels around the world; serving fresh, healthy food made with local produce. Eat in, takeaway or Deliveroo
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Just returned from a great value 3 course meal for under £60. Really good cooking and oh how i wished other places had a BYO policy; Provides an ideal opportunity to bring that prized bottle of vino you've been sitting on for ages, enjoy with good food and only pay a fiver for the privilege.

Lovely, friendly service and I was amazed to hear they do 3 course lunch for £13 - you wont BEAT that anywhere!!!!!!!

Wasnt particularly busy so im very happy for Maddermarket Kitchen to stay under the radar!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Purplejpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3Strawberry, Owner at Madder Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thank you so much for your review, it is appreciated when people take the time to do so.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (379)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

194 - 198 of 379 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2013

I have just returned from a very pleasant lunch at The Maddermarket Canteen. It has a very cosy atmosphere and the food was superb. Looking forward to returning in the near future.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3Strawberry, Owner at Madder Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

We are very happy you enjoyed the food and thank you for taking the time to post this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Cosy atmosphere, good quality food, BYOB and warm, friendly service. Very nice! Will definitely be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank bigbaldbond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3Strawberry, Owner at Madder Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Gald you enjoyed your meal and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Enjoyed a very good lunch - small selection but both starter and main were superb, both in presentation and taste. Very quiet which enabled us to chat away without disturbing anyone else.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Aubrey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3Strawberry, Owner at Madder Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

As soon as you enter the stark lack of atmosphere and bareness of the place hits you. The eating are is divided into two rooms. Furniture was randomly stacked up in the corner of the room we were eating in. They tried to be unique by having the menu written on a chalk board. All this did was irritate everyone eating in that room as all 6 of us had to get up and hover over the poor couple sitting under it. The first course took 40 minutes to arrive and by the time dinner was served we were all wondering why we bothered. The food was good but very very overpriced for what it was.
There are far better places to eat in Norwich. You shouldn't waste your time with this one.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank angelaetheridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3Strawberry, Owner at Madder Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your experience at our restaurant. The owners who include the chef were on holiday for two and a half weeks when you appear to have dined with us and a number of negative reviews came in during that time. We have resolved to close next year for an annual holiday as the reviews indicate it was not up to par.

I hope you raised any issues with the front of house staff at the time as we always aim to please. I do not know what the furniture was but it is not there now. I hope you will return so we can change your view with a better experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madder Kitchen also viewed

Lowestoft, Suffolk
 

Been to Madder Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing