We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convivial atmosphere, lovely food and great room for noisy Christmas Party” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Madder Kitchen

Madder Kitchen
Ranked #51 of 812 Restaurants in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $22
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Madder Kitchen blends delicious, vibrant flavours with seasonal ingredients. Our menu is heavily influenced by our travels around the world; serving fresh, healthy food made with local produce. Eat in, takeaway or Deliveroo
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Convivial atmosphere, lovely food and great room for noisy Christmas Party”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

St John's is in an old building in St John's Maddermarket. It has a unique atmosphere that you get with one-off restaurants. History, quirkiness and most important - total commitment which is really refreshing! Usually the Office Christmas Party feels like we are a part of a Christmas cattle market but this place was different. The food was lovely. The separate room from the usual punters meant that we could make a bit more noise than would be acceptable so that was great. The staff were very obliging and catered for last minute changes without any problem! All in all a very pleasant Christmas meal. Thank you! p.s. The wine that the boss bought was very pleasing as well!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank calkeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    81
    29
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“I'm conflicted on this place.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Attended a Christmas party here recently, have been here a couple of times in the past but not recently.

Good food, lots of it, that was packed to the brim with flavour. But the service was just terrible. You'd think that with the Christmas party prices locked down to £25 / £20 per head that they'd be coming by often to top up drinks and see if there was anything they could do to earn a bit more money for the business. Nope. We all sat there with empty glasses. One of the members of our party waited almost 15 minutes for a cup of tea, and when it arrived, there was a teapot, a saucer, a tasty shortbread biscuit.... but no cup? It wasn't helped by the fact we could see the waitresses stood by the drinks machine happily chatting away and drinking their refreshments.

May of just been a bad night for the service staff, but for me, especially with the fond memories I have of this place, I'm just a bit disappointed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nothing memorable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Came here with my girlfriend to scout out various places around Norwich to take my parents for a fancy meal, had heard that it was very good, almost on par with Bishops.

We had a full three course, but were pretty disappointed with the portion size: It was like eating three snacks, and we still felt hungry after leaving.
Would've thought the smaller portions are a trade off for excellent taste, which was also not the case. All three courses tasted okay, fairly standard, but something I would expect to get at a pub, not an apparently fancy place. Waitress was lovely, mind.

All in all, it was "okay". Nothing to shout about or even remember, and neither of us feel any drive to go back or recommend it to friends.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nomaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A quaint gem of a restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

A varied and locally inspired menu with a good selection of wines and beers/ciders for a small restaurant. The local theme continues with the art on the wall painted by Norfolk artists.
I thought that the small jug of water and bread rolls brought to the table soon after arrival were a nice touch.
Both my boyfriend and I enjoyed all three courses and would return because of the quality of the food.
The things which made me rate this restaurant as Very Good and not Excellent were the tiny tables and that the restaurant, hallway and toilet require a little TLC.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Danni6021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice night out with friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

This was my first time to St Johns. We went with friends on a Saturday evening. The restaurant itself was nice but very bright so the waitress turned down the lights for us. The food was very good. We all had scallops to start with which were delicious and cooked perfectly. For the mains my husband and I had the pork whilst our friends had the steak and lamb. We each agreed the meat was supurb. The desserts could have been better. We had the Dissaramo creme brulee but you could barely taste the liquer and it was set a bit too much. Overall it was a very good meal and a good night out with our friends. The prosecco was lovely by the way. The only thing on the negative side was that there was no atmosphere in the restaurant but that could have been because it wasnt very busy. We would certainly go again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Angel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madder Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Madder Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing