We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but very good”

Baby Buddha Chinese Teahouse
Ranked #14 of 64 Coffee & Tea in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $23
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Expensive but very good”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We chose to eat here on the recommendation of a friend. I am a huge chinese food fan and we do a lot of Asian and particularly Thai cooking at home, with DimSum being the newest addition to our dinner parties.

The food here is very good indeed - we have had one (very expensive - £60+ for 4) take-away that was by far the best chinese take-away i've eaten with better than your average restaurant quality food being delivered at restaurant prices.

My wife and I also had lunch here recently, sharing an excellent DimSum platter (house speciality) that we would definately choose again, also sharing a very good Prawns in yellow-sauce dish that was very good and I would choose again, also having an average singapoor noodle dish (my go-to choice).

We would definately choose here as our 1st choice Chinese now, but be warned - you have to pay for what you get!! Worth it? Probably.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dj_akademix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    76
    40
    28
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ok, but not great”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Food the was ok, a bit average, we waited quite a while (Saturday evening) for our food, I think they'd overbooked the restaurant as it was quite crowded, and when it did arrive we had a couple of wrong dishes. The service wasn't great (again due to over booking), they were starting to close up around us whilst we were finishing our drinks (about 10.45pm). We won't be going back in a hurrry

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jac M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“wonderful....”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We have eaten at baby buddha for 3 years now and the food has never been anything short of exceptional. The menu is varied and the food good quality. Portion size is perfect and service swift and discreet. Lovely now they have more space and family friendly too. This beats any restaurant in any Chinatown we have ever been to. A joyous eating experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ogas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Heard good things but Disappointed”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I'd hard how highly rated this place had been but when we went it was OK but nothing special - just yer average Chinese nosh , same as you'd get anywhere, if anything it was a bit bland

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Digital-Finger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I started going when it first opened, since then they have expanded into the pub next door but you still see the family who own it working the restaurant and waiting tables which is great. I only had Dim Sum this time but it was nice and very reasonably priced, and usually there are Chinese students from the university eating there which is a good sign in my opinion!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AaronB101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baby Buddha Chinese Teahouse also viewed

 

Been to Baby Buddha Chinese Teahouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing