We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Within touching distance.....”

Roger Hickman's restaurant
Ranked #6 of 817 Restaurants in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $77
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Norwich england
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Within touching distance.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

....but not there yet! First things first I think that Roger Hickman is probably the most talented chef plying his trade in Norfolk. He has a delicate touch and high standards. Several of the dishes sampled on my last visit were easily of Michelin 1* standard. The one that perhaps fell short had all of the flavour but for me the texture mix was wrong. A personal observation and perhaps not everyone would agree. On each of my visits to RH the food continues to improve and there is little wrong in this department.

Others have commented on the decor. It is clean and fresh but perhaps "Restaurant by numbers" in its design. However perfectly pleasant and comfortable. No doubt the decor will evolve to reflect RH personality in the years to come.

The biggest disappointment has to be front of house. Here the service falls way short of Michelin * status. The young staff try hard enough but the lack of experience shines through and this is why this review drops to 4* from me. RH needs an experienced Maitre d'hotel to complete the package. The restaurant screams out for someone to conduct the service in the way that RH conducts the kitchen. A restaurant experience is more than just the food and I have no doubt that if front of house met the standards of the kitchen that RH will earn and keep that coveted one star.

In summary this is a great restaurant and the value for money is excellent, a little more care with hiring the serving staff will elevate this to a real destination venue. Norwich needs talented chefs such as RH and I wish him the very best in his endeavours.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MangoChutney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    615
    110
    53
    26
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
218 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“It's not straightforward”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is not straightforward because the restaurant is quoted as one of the top 20 iin the UK comes highly praised (just read tripadviser) but I am deeply worried that the people who have been here are not too discerning. Don't get me wrong, it was very good but just not as good as, say, The Great House at Lavenham or Midsummer House in Cambridge. The hype is way over the top which irritated me and maybe might you too.
Firstly, the place is immaculate, the staff (only one waiter) was caring, helpful and efficient and the food was really good. lt is small uncluttered and lacks atmosphere and the pictures/paintings/prints on the wall were particularly clean and fresh but not too inspired. We were there for lunch and only three tables were occupied so maybe the place has more buzz about it when it is full. I am not too sure about that. Let me finish on a positive note. I think it is one of the best restaurants in Norwich, the food was delicious and of course I will give it another go but this time I will know what to expect and not be overhyped.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RestingEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

The food was beautifully presented, and extremely tasty, local ingredients and efficient friendly service. Roger Hickman is very hard-working and quietly enthusiastic, very hands on, and deserves all the praise he is receiving. An all-round enjoyable evening out.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank pensy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Sutton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Competitively priced lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

This restaurant has a very good reputation, and deservedly so. Upon walking through the door we were afforded a warm, friendly reception. The interior; much like the exterior, was simple, clean and pleasant. I found the service to be conscientious without being overly fussy, I cared for an insouciant lunch, and the staff had an efficiency that satisfied without becoming indolent. The food was what it should be at lunch, simple, clean, intelligible fare, with the crab, samphire and avocado amuse bouche being the paragon of this.
The prerequisite compensation for this actuality is beyond feasible, you need not confer the bill, as a superior price will seldom be found.
Overall a prudent, proficient, easy lunch I notably acclaim.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Andreas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Medditerainian Night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

A few nights ago my wife and I attended one of the restaurants speciality evenings " A Taste of the Mediterainian" It consisted of Four main dishes and two Pre dishes, the main dishes being accompanied by two wine each which were supplied and explained by Richard Berrill of Everich Wines.
All the dishes served were inventive, well presented and combind a range of flavours that worked well together resulting in a the high standards expected of fine dining.
The evening appeared to us, looking around at our fellow diners, to have been a deserved success.
We have dined here several times since it opened and have found the the consistancy and quality excellent this venu is good value compared to other restaurants of a similar quality.
In our opinion, having eaten in several Michelin Star establishments in England and Europe, it should not be long before Norwich again boasts one of it's own.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin8899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roger Hickman's restaurant also viewed

Norwich, Norfolk
Norwich, Norfolk
 

Been to Roger Hickman's restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing