We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Number 12 Bar & Restaurant - CLOSED

Number 12 Bar & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $32
Cuisines: Bar, British, Contemporary, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Always Something happening, new menu, new look, come down and see us!!Now open Sundays
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

I recently had my 18th birthday here and had a fantastic time, the staff and owner were extremely helpful and ensured everyone was happy. Extremely friendly and chatty as well as offering a great deal considering a large number of guests. As well as a complimentary birthday beer! Would recommend to anyone who's looking to hold a party with great ambience and excellent customer service. Since then I have visited with friends and family and must say the food is top notch too! A****

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Harry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichealH1958, Head chef at Number 12 Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thanks for the great review and glad you enjoyed your birthday party with us, thanks for the other visits to and we hope to see you again real soon?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    91
    27
    14
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Fantastic food and staff in a great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

I live in Melbourne and love to explore the high quality restaurant culture in that city but on a recent trip back to Norwich I was recommended to dine at no 12 and I was simply blown away. The atmosphere was very friendly with special mention to Richard the landlord who was both charming and eager to please. My parents had recently celebrated their 60th wedding anniversary and Richard did everything he could (and more) to make sure they had a memorable evening. He was very attentive, engaged in witty conversation with us all and made my parents feel really special. He even brought them a bottle of wine on the house. There was a good range of local ales and a nice “feel” about the bar area where I could easily imagine spending hours with the lucky regulars. The food was amazing – good sized portions and while we all enjoyed our own choice of dish - the Thai green curry was a standout. All in all a fabulous evening of food and the best part was the bill – it was very reasonably priced – I am just sorry I can’t get back to eat there every week!! I just hope Norwich knows how lucky it is – No 12 would make a fortune over here in food mad Australia. Thanks Richard and the hard working staff

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dickmoz .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichealH1958, Head Chef at Number 12 Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you for this wonderful review, I have passed along your remarks to "Basil" and he smiled, he is always on form and loves to serve!!! Thanks for the comments about the food to, and should we ever decide to expand abroad we will keep Melbourne in mind!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

As always amazing food friendly unbiased staff happy to please friendly polite and fun atmosphere I drink and eat here on a regular basis because it's the best pub I in norwich

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fattandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichealH1958, Head Chef at Number 12 Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Hi Andy thanks for the great review, great to see you as always!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

First time visiting since the new owners took over, visited with family for lunch on a Monday.

Service was friendly and efficient. The Lunch menu was quite varied and had lots of nice choices, the steaks sandwich was incredibly filling and good value. The place looks nicer too. Will come back and try it for Dinner soon!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AaronB101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichealH1958, Head Chef at Number 12 Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you for the lovely review, glad you enjoyed your lunch with us, hope to see you soon for dinner?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Excellent food and staff, will visit many more times”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

Staff and Landlord are very welcoming, always a pleasure to have a drink in here. The food is excellent and I can recommend this place to everyone. Iron Maiden beer on draught too.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank StevenBatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichealH1958, Head Chef at Number 12 Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Hi Steven, thank you for the great review, we love serving you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Number 12 Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Norwich, Norfolk
Norwich, Norfolk
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing