We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food great service !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Norfolk Lurcher
Ranked #37 of 80 Norwich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We had a meal here for the first time in many years and I am very glad we did . ....The menu is extensive and food very well prepared with fresh ingredients and very good presentation.

Prices are reasonable given the very high quality food that the restaurant presents . The staff were very polite , service prompt and owners extremely friendly. We had 4 adult meals and 1 child's pasta dish all of which were cooked to perfection.

I will definitely be adding this as a regular venue and would have no hesitation in recommending to others ....

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YUMMYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 155 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2012

This is a fantastic pub with a lovely restaurant & a superb ambience created by a caring family & Alfie who runs the whole shooting match!
The beers are local real ales amazingly priced & kept to perfection.
We live in Sheringham & the only other pub & food we know to be as good is the Windham Arms,our local!Again it's run by a professional family who care.
First time we've shared our views but try them both for yourselves!

Room Tip: Speak to Alison,John or Rob!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank craig m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We have come back from a two night stay and wow what a place. Cant fault anything, service super, food excellent, accommodation fantastic.

Room Tip: Any, however a suite has just become available and this looked fantastic, ask for room 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hebcelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

As a local I do not like one off BAZ from Oxford trying to close down our village pub. Alison and John are nice people. If they had a problem why did they not write instead of a vicious attack?
They now talk about closing down. Is it worth it when one-off visits are so damaging to a small business on an unregulated website? Our local has beer at £2.50 a pint, good food and four star AA accommodation checked by regulated inspectors.
I feel sorry for Alison and John having gone on a well-deserved break and returning to a sad BAZ from Oxford.
PLEASE STAY. WE NEED OUR LOCAL.

Room Tip: Lovely spacious, well-decorated rooms. Beds are very comfortable. Tea and coffee-making facilities a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

I cannot believe the pe rsonal attack of the owners/ Ugly Bug staff made by "Baz",he has nothing but negative comments and obviously failed to purchase any food as he has no other comments other than price. He has failed to address his critism to the owners John & Alison where he would have recd a courteus and constructive response THE UGLY BUG IS AN EXCELLENT INN ,COUNTRY LOC.,WARM ENVIRONMENT,GOOD FOOD,ACCOM,VALUE FOR MONEY & FRIENDLY STAFF
BAZ STAY IN OXFORD, NORFOLK DOES NOT NEED THE FACELESS VITREOL OF PROSSIONAL/FACELESS COMPLAINERS
To those trippers who have not yet visited the UGLy Bug ignor Baz's comments try it for yourself
Johnmm

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

If you are looking for lunch in a warm welcoming country pub - then go somewhere else. If your tastes run to starched white table clothes in a freezing barn, with curt staff then this is the place for you. Four of us stopped in for lunch after a walk around the idyllic Norfolk countryside - we checked our shoes were clean before entering and sat in the bar area - it looked more inviting than the restaurant - but looks can be deceptive. We could forgive a camara recommended pub having only one ale as it was January and they obviously didn't get much passing trade ( maybe there is a reason for that!). And we forgave them not having a nice warming fire in the fireplace - well it was warm for January, and we forgave the curt waitress (owner?) for claiming that everything on the enormous menu was freshly cooked - after all she did have to lug the specials board over to us and as we were dressed in casual clothes we were obviously not the sort of folk she was used to. We almost forgave the high prices - starters around 6 pounds, mains 11 to 20 something pounds - and there were no light snack alternatives - oh yes soup for about 4pounds. But at some point we got fed up forgiving. The food at best is OK, the one ale was similarly ok - well not to my taste. This lovely old barn has been converted into grim pub with silly fancy ideas - the original barn was probably nicer.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank BazOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

Been here twice now in the last month. Very cosy bar area, excellent real ales. Extensive menu including local game and fish. The Downham duck is superb. Generous portion sizes, tasty food, excellent traditional type service in a comfortable not overcrowded restaurant area. Great selection of vegetable accompaniments included in the price. Slight grumble about the mash, which was disappointing on both my visits. It was a bit lumpy, and not creamy. That said, I will be back again and again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jaydeejnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norwich hotels
11.2 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich East (Broadlands/A47) Hotel
Premier Inn Norwich East (Broadl...
#1 of 1 in Thorpe St Andrew
731 reviews
4.6 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,226 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
1.1 mi away
Barnham Broom
Barnham Broom
#1 of 1 in Barnham Broom
944 reviews
18.1 mi away
The White House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Norfolk Lurcher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Norfolk Lurcher

Address: High House Farm Lane, Norwich NR9 5DG, England (Formerly The Ugly Bug Inn)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Norwich
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your The Norfolk Lurcher reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing