We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay for festival weekend....beats camping!!”

St. Edmundsbury Bed and Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. Edmundsbury Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #63 of 80 Norwich B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Me and a friend shared a twin room for the saturday night of a weekend local music festival and were pleasantly surprised on how lovely the B&B was. It was easy to find, in a quiet village setting but ideally located for all the sights and attractions of Norwich. Our room was very clean, immaculately presented, with immaculate en suite, very comfortable beds (I didn't wake once!), tea and coffee making facilities and a wall mounted flat screen TV.
Our view was over the large and very well kept garden. Breakfast was lovely and the dining room was again very tidy and well planned out. The owners were very friendly and accomodating, and even ferried us to the showground in his car, which we added to the bill, a lovely touch and much appreciated! Would definately recommend, and we will be sure to return if we do the festival again next year................I don't do camping!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hayley b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
There are newer reviews for St. Edmundsbury Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 39 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

We quite enjoyed our stay here. Quiet rooms, very clean, plenty of parking, friendly, chatty but not too chatty (!) hosts and a fabulous breakfast. A few nice pubs nearby too if you don't want to take the short drive in to Norwich

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We had a perfectly pleasant 2-night stay in this B & B just outside Norwich, about a 15 minute drive to UEA. The place was spotlessly clean, and the owners welcoming and friendly. Although there was only 2 of us, we were in the "family room" with an extra single bed, which made it a little cramped, but it was perfectly OK. Plenty of parking space at the front of the building.

Breakfast was good and there was plenty of it. My only quibble: there's no place for a tinned tomato in a "full English".

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Schadenfreude53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

What a fabulous find definitely stay again! Very friendly owners made us very welcome! Lovely comfortable double room, very clean, bedding smelt fresh & ensuit was clean! All flat screen tv's in room with lots of channels! Impressed with the free wifi! Use of guest lounge but I preferred chilling in my room! Lovely garden, hotel owners made tea for us to sit in their garden! Sun was shinning felt I was on holiday sitting in their beautiful garden! I recommend for anyone traveling & wanting to stay in a lovely friendly clean b&b outside the city centre!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amymahala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

We first found this bed & breakfast in June 2011, we liked it so much we have never bothered to look for anywhere else. We have now stayed three times and each time we have been made to feel welcome by Lesley & Brian. Accommodation is exceptionally clean, comfortable with bright and tastefully decoration. The beds are very comfortable. Breakfast is a delicious full english breakfast in a bright a cheerful room. A fridge is available if you wish to bring in your own food for a snack in the evening which is eaten in the breakfast room (no eating in rooms permitted which I think is sensible). Tea and coffee facilities in room. We couldn't find fault with this exceptional bed & breakfast and would strongly recommend it excellent value.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

We stayed overnight on way to a funeral. The room was very Cosy and warm especially as it was very wet and windy outside. Breakfast good full English and good value. Only gripe I would make is that the water was only Luke warm in the shower, other than that, very good. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanpamela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

The St. Edmundsbury is a classical guest cottage set into the rolling countryside outside of Norwich. It is in a rural area a few miles away and requires a car (and a good map) to find - there is free parking in front of the inn. The B&B is an extension of the family's house which can lead to some initial confusion - sitting rooms for the family are not easy to distinguish from rooms for the guests, people assigned to meet guests are intermingled with people living there. Nonetheless, I connected with the right person who helped me get settled - there are interior steps and narrow, sharp hallways that may keep this from being accessible to people with disabilities.

The rooms are comfortable and well kept: the room feels like a home bedroom and the beds are nice. There is a television, but wifi is only available in the sitting room. The bathroom is small but adequate - there was adequate hot water and fair pressure. Breakfast is served in a large sunlit room off the entryway and is light fare of cereals, fruits, cakes, and juices.

The B&B is within reasonable distance of the Norwich airport (the reason I chose it ahead of an early flight to the US via Amsterdam) and has a warm and home-y feel. You mingle pretty closely with the extended family and are a bit distant from Norwich center, but this is otherwise a good alternative to in-town hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveH-ExPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norwich
1.5 mi away
Best Western Brook Hotel Norwich
3.4 mi away
Aylwyne House
Aylwyne House
#28 of 50 in Norwich
56 reviews
4.7 mi away
Stracey Hotel
Stracey Hotel
#15 of 50 in Norwich
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Best Western George Hotel
Best Western George Hotel
#30 of 50 in Norwich
458 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Kings Head Bawburgh
The Kings Head Bawburgh
#1 of 2 in Bawburgh
54 reviews
4.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Edmundsbury Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Edmundsbury Bed and Breakfast

Address: 146 The Street | Old Costessey, Norwich NR8 5DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Norwich
Price Range: $77 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Edmundsbury Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your St. Edmundsbury Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing