We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such a Pleasure” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of number 17

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
number 17
Ranked #23 of 86 Norwich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Such a Pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed two nights here as we were going to a wedding in Norwich how lovely and clean and such a lovely breakfast. Bed comfortable and shower great i would recommend Number 17 to you. Easy to find and you are given a voucher for your car on the public car park at the rear so you dont have to pay,we just paid for an hour to carry cases etc.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    44
    20
    11
    0
See reviews for
23
67
30
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Hidden gem in heart of Norwich City. Parking is just next to B&B. Fabulous, spacious room with high ceiling. Very clean. Good hearty breakfast. Open door and the city explorations begin. Would definitely book again. X

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

We found No 17 an excellent base for a short holiday in Norwich. We wanted a twin room and the one in the rear extension was quiet, comfortable and attractive. The bathroom was clean, fitted out with style, and with a roomy shower cubicle. The person who cleaned the rooms occasionally overlooked some minor detail, but nothing important. The beds were comfy and the heating warmed up very quickly. The furnishings everwhere are smart and tasteful, the state of decoration very good, and everywhere is clean and pleasant. Breakfasts were generous: fresh fruit, cereals, and a variety of nicely cooked courses that one could get quite plump on!

The beds are normally made up with the duvets that are now standard. We do not like duvets. The owners could not offer blankets as an alternative, but Mrs Clark was happy to provide a pair of sheets and for us to bring our own blankets in the car. Mr & Mrs Clark were always very friendly, caring and helpful in many ways.

Free car parking near the B&B was a welcome bonus - the pay car park would have cost around £10 per 24 hours. The cathedral and historic centre of Norwich are within easy walking distance, and many of the roads are now traffic-free. No 17 was, for us, an ideal place to stay within easy reach of everything we wanted to go to, without having to drive or use a bus. The walk into town was past pleasant old buildings, mingled with well-planned modern ones that often blended well with the more traditional styles. We are looking forward to an opportunity to stay here again.

Room Tip: Guests can bring their own blankets if duvets are not liked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank taffywhitehair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

Having tried several other hotels in and around Norwich, I stopped on 6/12 at No 17, for the third time. Have got mixed feelings about writing a review, as it may mean it's more difficult for me to get a room the next time I want to stay. Frankly, it's as good as it gets. It's clean, smart, well cared for and great value. The breakfast is awesome and the proprietors are thoroughly nice people. As a bonus, there are a couple of great pubs (one with a superb menu) less than two minutes walk.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sledgewrty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

We spent the 30th Nov here for one night while going to the theatre and it is really nice! Perfect location for everything, lovely room and very comfy bed, great breakfast and free parking in the center of Norwich!! Lovely welcome and very helpful hosts would definitely stay here again and recommend!! We also went shopping on the Sunday and as there were not any guests needing the parking space they allowed us to leave the car until we left later that day.
Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

The room was clean and spacious and the breakfast very good.
The reason I have rated it as poor is because on our day of departure the owners offered to store our luggage at the B and B until we came to pick it up at 2.30pm en route to the train station. We arrived back at the B and B at 2.30pm and found it empty with no-one answering the phone or the doorbell and no means given on website of further contact details.. We therefore missed our train and had to rearrange childcare. Eventually the owner arrived back at 3.30pm having forgotten the arrangement. He did apologise but only offered compensation if we agreed to come and stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Staffs
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Stayed one night with my wife. Convenient city centre location (within spitting distance of Elm Hill!) yet very quiet. Excellent quality throughout. Room was well designed and thoughtfully laid out. Fantastic modern, spacious en-suite. Been open 5 years but still crisp and spotless. Breakfast very good. Very difficult to fault on any level. A credit to the owners.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oliveboy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.1 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#5 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel
0.6 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#26 of 50 in Norwich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Fishergate Apartments
Fishergate Apartments
#1 of 34 in Norwich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.4 mi away
38 St Giles Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to number 17? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about number 17

Property: number 17
Address: 17 Colegate, Norwich NR3 1BN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — number 17 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
number 17 is positioned in the historic heart of the city, within 5 minutes walk of the main shopping area. Our contemporary styled rooms offer en-suite shower or bathrooms, LCD satellite TV's, free internet access, tea & coffee making facilities and hairdryers.Guests are offered a full service breakfast including cereal, seasonal fresh fruit, yogurt, patisserie and "full English." Whether your stay is for business or pleasure expect a warm welcome at number 17. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your number 17 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 17 Hotel Norwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing