We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good modern accommodation close to city centre and Tombland”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of number 17

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
number 17
Ranked #21 of 86 Norwich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good modern accommodation close to city centre and Tombland”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

There were 6 of us, so we decided to book the two family suites (converted barns) at the back of the property. Each suite was nicely decorated and comfortable, double bed and family bathroom (with bath and separate shower) on the ground floor and a bedroom on the 1st floor that had two single beds. If these are ideally for families with young kids, I think the suites (7 and 8) could benefit with a small fridge in each.

Breakfast - You had to give the exact time you wanted to have breakfast the day before and the last breakfast is before 9:30am, I think the exact time may have something to do with the size of the dining room compared to the number of guests. Good full English is provided, cooked fresh! Also available cereals, fruit, croissants, yogurts, jams and even marmite. Breakfast was great and we did get up to have it even though we were out late. You also have tea and coffee making facilities in your room, I guess quite standard with most B&B's.

Access in the evening - I thought this worked well, you were given a key and code to get in and out of the B&B which didn't disturb any of the other guests or the owners.

If you wanted to hang around the B&B as we had suites after breakfast (we were a group of friends who hadn't seen each other for a while) as we did, that didn't quite work with the cleaning schedule, felt we needed to be out, also, we found a dirty plaster and chip (french fry) from those who were in suite 8 before us, so cleaning could be better.

The hot water ran out in room 8 on our first morning, with only three adults showering? Also, slightly annoying the owners wanted to remove a cot that was in one of the rooms in suite 7, I think that should have been moved before we moved in, again having to time things according to the cleaner and the owner it was hardly what I would call a flexible stay. The owner (I think) parks his big car outside suites 7 and 8, this took up a ton of space and so unnecessary as there is a car park behind the property. You do however get free parking for the entire duration of your stay, which is good.

The B&B has a great location to be able to get into the city quite quickly. Lots of bars and restaurants round the corner from the B&B. The closest supermarket is a tesco metro, which we used a fair amount to get ice (no fridge in the rooms)

Although we had a good stay, I won't stay here again if I visit Norwich again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgirl2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    44
    20
    11
    0
See reviews for
23
67
31
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and really enjoyed it. The room was very clean and modern set against an olde worlde building (so the ceiling sloped and the beams are original). We had a room on the front which was a bit noisy due to it being a cut through road, having said that it didn't bother us. No problems late evening or during the night with noise so we had a very peaceful sleep. Despite all the bad weather we are having in the UK the sun shone all the time we were there so we could have done with a fan in the room as it did get very hot. The owners are very friendly, and we found his sense of humour great. The breakfast was delicious, freshly cooked to order. I have to follow a wheat-free diet and they provided gluten free toast for me. However, if you are Coeliac I'm not sure about cross contamination, it doesn't bother me as I can tolerate small amounts so make sure you let them know beforehand. They are more than willing to help you have a great stay. We'll go back for sure.

Room Tip: If you want quiet in the day go for the rooms out the back, otherwise, I'd go for the front room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rivierabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

Great B&B in the heart of Norwich, everything nearby. Did you know there are 52 churches in Norwich and 356 pubs, great for a pub crawl. The B&B was a friendly place, rooms were great, and we had the family room, which was in an old converted barn. Great rooms for a family, upstairs is a separate twin and down stairs a large bed and an enormous bathroom. The furniture was very good spec. Lovely breakfast, which was to order, cereal and yogurts help yourself.
Just one minor winged, when one asks about car parking facilities at number 17 one expects an accurate response, so anyone that reads this push the point so that you expect this reply “yes we do have a small car parking area across the road.”
One last point great owner, he has a unique style of customer interaction.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights whilst exploring Norwich - the b&b is in a great position for sightseeing, 10 minute walk to the Cathedral, and about the same in the opposite direction to the City centre, castle, etc. Lovely, very comfortable room, nice bathroom with a great shower. Great breakfast. The only slight downside was the noise from the road outside as we were at the front of the building, but apart from that, I would highly recommend this as a place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Priscilla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

Really nice up-market b&b, great rooms which are exceptionally clean, and very tastefully furnished. Superb location, and excellent breakfast. Contrary to previous reviews we found the owner to be incredibly pleasant, he went out of his way to help us and we couldn't have asked for more. Will definitely book here for all future trips to Norwich.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreaColchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

We had 3 rooms at Number 17 for 1 night the last weekend in May. (My husband and myself, my sister-in-law and mother-in-law.) We had a friendly welcome from the owner who showed us the rooms, asked what time we`d like breakfast and recommended a nearby Indian restaurant for that evening. The restuarant, Ali Tandoori, was only a couple of minutes walk away and was indeed very good. Breakfast next morning was of a high standard - lots of fresh fruit including pineapple and mango, a wide choice of cereals, yoghurt and a choice of cooked breakfasts including a vegetarian option and our choice kippers which was a real treat! The coffee was excellent and the breakfast room is modern and stylish but also comfortable. We all slept well. My sister-in-law`s room was in the main house and at the front overlooking the street but even so was very quiet. The other 2 rooms were converted outbuildings at the back of the house overlooking a charming courtyard garden. These have been converted and furnished to a very high standard, we were in the family room which has a double bed and a huge bathroom (bath and separate large shower cubicle) downstairs and twin beds upstairs. Toiletries are provided as well as tea/coffee making facilities. We all agreed that Number 17 is ideal for a stay in Norwich, it is clean comfortable and modern, only a short walk from the city centre yet tucked away in a quiet side street. We would certainly use it again if staying in Norwich and i`ve already recommended it to my brother and sister.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annabellacottonsocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

Overall, a good quality B&B with pleasant fresh decor and an excellent breakfast, at reasonably good value for money. However, despite the promise of free local parking, this is only available if there are nearby spaces and only between the hours of 5.30pm and 8am. Therefore if you need to park outside these hours, you will need to pay. While not necessarily a problem, we would have probably opted for an alternative with free onsite parking had we known the real situation.

Also, despite comments from others about large rooms, we had a particuarly small room so if size matters to you, it's worth checking the room that you're getting in advance!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back seem to be quieter and larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 19SeasonedTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
0.6 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#27 of 50 in Norwich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Fishergate Apartments
Fishergate Apartments
#1 of 34 in Norwich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.4 mi away
38 St Giles Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to number 17? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about number 17

Property: number 17
Address: 17 Colegate, Norwich NR3 1BN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — number 17 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
number 17 is positioned in the historic heart of the city, within 5 minutes walk of the main shopping area. Our contemporary styled rooms offer en-suite shower or bathrooms, LCD satellite TV's, free internet access, tea & coffee making facilities and hairdryers.Guests are offered a full service breakfast including cereal, seasonal fresh fruit, yogurt, patisserie and "full English." Whether your stay is for business or pleasure expect a warm welcome at number 17. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your number 17 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 17 Hotel Norwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing