We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An enjoyable stay..” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of number 17

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
number 17
Ranked #23 of 86 Norwich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“An enjoyable stay..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2011

We stayed for two nights - Friday and Saturday, we were met by the owner and shown to our to our double room in the main house. It was a bit on the small side but very clean and well decorated. The bathroom was good with a big double shower. We over looked the road at the front, and as it was a warm evening slept with the window open, the noise on the Friday night was incredible, awake until 3am hearing people walking home after a drunken night out. So if you are a light sleeper request on booking you have a double room at the back in the courtyard.

Breakfast was fantastic, lots of choice and a nicely cooked breakfast if you wanted it. We also asked to use the hot tub, we were provided with towels and robes and spent a good hour in the tub - really fun - and should not be missed. We sat in lovely courtyard garded afterwards soaking up the sun.

B & B is in a good location for the town, close to the Cathedral and other attractions. A good find and would stay again but in the courtyard!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holiday07-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    44
    20
    11
    0
See reviews for
23
67
30
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fontainebleau, france
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2011

I have stayed here twice either bringing or fetching my daughter to university and I'm glad she has another two years to go as that will be the perfect excuse to come back to Number 17.
I've had two different rooms: the first was a single in the main building and the second was a double in the courtyard. Both were decorated in what I would call luxury Scandinavian style with interesting colour schemes. There are wonderful thick fluffy towels in the bathroom, complimentary soap etc, which would put a lot of four star hotels to shame, solid wooden floors and wi-fi in the rooms.
The first time I stayed I thought the cereals, fresh sliced fruit and croissants on the sideboard were the breakfast so helped myself liberally and was surprised when Jim then gave me a menu and asked me what I wanted from the choice of eggs, bacon, sausages, porridge...! The full breakfast here will save you having to eat another meal until dinner! But what I like best of all is the aura of calm and peace there is in this B&B and the fact that it is right in the heart of the city. The overnight parking facility is also a great boon even if you do have to find somewhere else to park during the day.
My only criticism would be that the hand-basins in both the rooms I've had were lacking plugs of any description so rather worrying when one is removing contact-lenses or jewellery.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Apiersa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2011

Stayed in a twin room in the garden right next to the bird table ,and was Treated to a great full English breakfast and a good selection of cereals etc in the morning . The owner was very helpful and recommended local restaurants and places we might like to try , the room was very clean as was the rest of the property . Great location and in walking distance of all local amenities and cathedral

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beresfordnatalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffs
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2011

My title really sums up what's good about Number 17. It's a charming old house - the owner said it dates back around 400 years - but the facilities are modern and of high quality. The house is a little creaky - you often hear other people walking around above you, so may disturb exceptionally light sleepers, although it didn't bother me. I had a lovely single room which was totally clean and of a high standard for the price I paid (£52). The only thing I would mention to the contrary is that I can slightly relate to what another reviewer said about the male owner. I thought he was okay, but he seemed the type of person to only want to keep conversation to a bare minimum. I didn't think he had a very outgoing personality - I don't think I've got a very outgoing personality myself, but then again, I don't work in the tourism industry.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank benjaminbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2011

The accommadation was in a converted barn near the centre of the city, it was split level with a double bed, settee and armchair and a flat screen TV on the ground floor and two single beds on the upper, the bathroom was ultra modern, with a shower and large bath.
Despite the cold weather the heating kept it warm and cosy.It was spotlessly clean throughout. A large public car park was adajcent, As a blue badge holder this was free so am unable to give parking charges if any. The breakfast came up to the standard expected in any good class accommadation.
A great find and hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Granddadgrump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2011

A very good location, easy walking distance in to town and lots of resaurants nearby, We had a lovely room off the court yard well decorate, very clean, smelt great!! very cosy and comfortable, The breafast was excellent and cooked to perfection. The owner was charing and very helpful and very kindly loaned us a parking permit a we were there for 2 nights, these are obviously limited as they have buy them, so if you require parking I would advise you to contact hem directly. Would definately recommend.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rapeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2011

Good central location, five minutes' walk to a choice of restaurants and not much further to the market square. Downside is the absence of free daytime parking, although there is a car park immediately behind.
Our room in the main building was small, although spotless and recently decorated. Good shower and comfortable bed.
Good choice of breakfast, from fresh fruit and mini-pastries to a carefully cooked English breakfast.
Owner was civil and helpful, although I can imagine how other reviewers' misunderstandings have arisen.
NB Don't anticipate eating in Norwich on a Sunday evening. It's closed.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Woohouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.1 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#5 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel
0.6 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#26 of 50 in Norwich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Fishergate Apartments
Fishergate Apartments
#1 of 34 in Norwich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.4 mi away
38 St Giles Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to number 17? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about number 17

Property: number 17
Address: 17 Colegate, Norwich NR3 1BN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — number 17 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
number 17 is positioned in the historic heart of the city, within 5 minutes walk of the main shopping area. Our contemporary styled rooms offer en-suite shower or bathrooms, LCD satellite TV's, free internet access, tea & coffee making facilities and hairdryers.Guests are offered a full service breakfast including cereal, seasonal fresh fruit, yogurt, patisserie and "full English." Whether your stay is for business or pleasure expect a warm welcome at number 17. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your number 17 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 17 Hotel Norwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing