We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great value and very freindly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich
Ranked #47 of 80 Norwich B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We booked the hotel as we wanted something close to the football ground. The views from the rear of the hotel, the bars and restaurant and our room were excellent.
We arrived an 1aam which was to early to book in so mentioned we would be back late and we eventually got back just before 11pm. We were welcomed with a smile from the scouse gentleman and led to our room which although on the small side was well equipped with a comfortable bed and quilt.

The next morning we were welcomed by the most cheerful waitress (Australian but has lived in the village over 25 years) you would find anywhere who shared her knowledge of the local area with enthusiasm suggesting we walk five minutes along the road to the river which was a great suggestion. It was a lovely walk with lots of birds and swans. The wiatress also gave us some bread to feed the birds!!

The chef is also a character

There is a fantastic real ale pub a 5 minute walk in the other direct; The Cat and Canary and its only another 10 minute walk to the football ground

The furniture in the bars and restaurant is a little tired but the views are lovely.

At £63 for a double room with breakfast it is great value and the staff made it extra special. A great find!!

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear have lovely views of the river
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeteBottomley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The Town House, Innkeeper's Lodge, Norwich and we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us. On behalf of all the team we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and we have replied to you personally asking for a little more information.
.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
There are newer reviews for Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 163 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time we have stayed here and it won't be the last. Our room was clean and comfortable and the staff made us feel very welcome. The room was cleaned each day along with fresh towels which was a nice touch. The carvery is great value and the breakfast was great. Would recommend to family and friends visiting Norwich.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Backrowbridgfordred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you for posting your kind review about your visit to The Town House, Norwich on Trip Advisor. It is our aim to give every customer the very best service and experience possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Bedroom was very clean and comfortable. Hotel has lovely views overlooking the river. The carvery was exceptional value. Beware of supersizing your carvery meal - you'll be hard pushed to eat it all! Staff very friendly and helpful. Would not hesitate to use this hotel again next time I'm staying in Norwich.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the river at the back of the hotel are quieter than those at the front, but not th...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedrolutterworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Your kind recommendation means a lot to us here at The TownHouse, Innkeeper's Lodge, Norwich, and we are so glad to hear that your visit was a positive one. We have replied to you personally about your review.
.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Just back from a few days staying at the Town House Hotel. Room as advertised, basic and clean with comfy beds.
Staff very helpful and friendly.
Food excellent quality and value for money.
Our river view room overlooked the gardens of the hotel and was nice and quiet at night.

Room Tip: I always take earplugs away just incase of disturbances. Only noise from creaky floorboards, which...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valiain P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Thank you for your review, we do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments following your recent visit to The Town House, Innkeeper's Lodge, Norwich .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed and little has changed since last year. The public areas are looking a little worn and in need of some tlc.The room itself was spacious clean tidy and comfortable. One tip if you are a light sleeper try for a room at the rear of the Inn. The stairs are quite steep and difficult for anyone with a mobility problem. Booking in was quick and easy and the young man in question carried our case to the room. Breakfast was fine and all in all we would be happy to stay again. We would particularly like to compliment Tammy and Megan on their friendly and helpful attitude.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank touristgirl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

May we thank you for your review, as we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Town House, Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich. We have replied to you personally and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

The staff is this hotel's biggest asset. They are friendly, professional and welcoming. The rooms are clean, a reasonable size and adequate. The view out of the back onto the river is lovely. The food is fine for the price. I paid 66 pounds for a big room and was very happy with my stay. It's dated (but not dirty). I would stay here again for definite. Having the pub downstairs was great in my eyes and it wasn't noisy.

Room Tip: Room 18 was fine...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Verinia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Your kind recommendation means a lot to us here at The Town House, Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich , and we are so glad to hear that your visit was a positive one. We have replied to you personally about your review.
.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

What a shame that the cleanliness of this place lets it down badly. It is in a lovely location and we called by for a carvery lunch on a glorious Sunday lunchtime. The river runs right behind and the setting is lovely.

First the food - £7ish for a carvery lunch which was a choice of 4 meats (turkey, beef, gammon and pork which were all nicely cooked and you could have some of each) was acceptable. There was a choice of roast potatoes, mashed potato, green beans (very nice) cauliflower (too hard), carrots, onions, stuffing and Yorkshire pud. Gravy was available as were horseradish sauce, apple sauce etc. However these were on a separate table and there were several flies buzzing around so I gave them a miss.

The food was adequate but the tables were awful. Scratched and bare and you had to set your own place from cutlery which stood in a pot on the table and was none too clean. Everything was just neglected. Window catches broken, peeling paint, grubby windows and so on. Outside could be a lovely garden but it was also run down and there were actually large buddlea plants growing out of the guttering at the back.

While I was there I heard a staff member telling a customer that they were closing for a few days to have new carpet fitted. Believe me, it needs a lot more than some new carpets! A thorough cleanse from top to bottom, some new hygienic looking tables and a big dollop of TLC.

I wouldn't go there again and I certainly wouldn't feel happy taking friends there as it is so shabby.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PennylaneEastAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

We were sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your visit to TheTown House Restaurant, and we really appreciate the feedback you have given us.
Thank you.
Innkeeper’s Lodge Norwich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
0.7 mi away
No photo provided
The Oaklands Court
#65 of 80 in Norwich
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Old Rectory
The Old Rectory
#1 of 1 in Thorpe St Andrew
333 reviews
7.7 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Norfolk Broads - Swan Inn
2.0 mi away
The Lord Rosebery
The Lord Rosebery
#26 of 80 in Norwich
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich

Address: 18-22 Yarmouth Road, Norwich NR7 0EF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Norwich
Price Range: $75 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're planning to explore historic Norwich or soak up the scenery of the Norfolk Broads, you'd be hard pushed to find a hotel as perfectly placed as this. Nestled in a lovely spot on the banks of the River Yare, opposite Whittingham Country Park, the lodge houses 14 warm and welcoming rooms as well as a Crown Carvery. So you can enjoy the tranquility of the area with your choice of roast, freshly steamed vegetables, roast potatoes and Yorkshire puds. Norwich has some of the best medieval architecture in Britain with a Norman moat and Bailey Castle and a fine cathedral dating back to 1096. It's also home to the Norfolk Broads, the largest protected wetlands in the country. They're a mecca for sailors, motor-boaters, canoeists and fishing enthusiasts - although walkers, bird watchers and cyclists will find plenty to do without having to get wet. Norwich Aviation Museum is just up the road, too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Town House Hotel Norwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing