We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich
Nearby Hotels
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$73
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$91
$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stracey Hotel(Norwich)
$77
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$195
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barnham Broom(Barnham Broom)
$217
$189
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveler rating
35
60
44
21
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
35
60
44
21
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsriver viewcontinental breakfast was includedfull englishice cream machinecrown carverywater pressure isriverside gardencarvery dinnersofa bedwould stay here againsome tlcshower roomfresh fruitcooked foodvisit norwichroom numberfirst morning
Filter
Updating list...
141 - 146 of 172 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Bedroom was very clean and comfortable. Hotel has lovely views overlooking the river. The carvery was exceptional value. Beware of supersizing your carvery meal - you'll be hard pushed to eat it all! Staff very friendly and helpful. Would not hesitate to use this hotel again next time I'm staying in Norwich.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the river at the back of the hotel are quieter than those at the front, but not that much difference.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedrolutterworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Your kind recommendation means a lot to us here at The TownHouse, Innkeeper's Lodge, Norwich, and we are so glad to hear that your visit was a positive one. We have replied to you personally about your review.
.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Just back from a few days staying at the Town House Hotel. Room as advertised, basic and clean with comfy beds.
Staff very helpful and friendly.
Food excellent quality and value for money.
Our river view room overlooked the gardens of the hotel and was nice and quiet at night.

Room Tip: I always take earplugs away just incase of disturbances. Only noise from creaky floorboards, which are to be expected in old building. Rooms with river view are nice and quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valiain P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Thank you for your review, we do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments following your recent visit to The Town House, Innkeeper's Lodge, Norwich .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed and little has changed since last year. The public areas are looking a little worn and in need of some tlc.The room itself was spacious clean tidy and comfortable. One tip if you are a light sleeper try for a room at the rear of the Inn. The stairs are quite steep and difficult for anyone with a mobility problem. Booking in was quick and easy and the young man in question carried our case to the room. Breakfast was fine and all in all we would be happy to stay again. We would particularly like to compliment Tammy and Megan on their friendly and helpful attitude.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank touristgirl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

May we thank you for your review, as we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Town House, Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich. We have replied to you personally and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

The staff is this hotel's biggest asset. They are friendly, professional and welcoming. The rooms are clean, a reasonable size and adequate. The view out of the back onto the river is lovely. The food is fine for the price. I paid 66 pounds for a big room and was very happy with my stay. It's dated (but not dirty). I would stay here again for definite. Having the pub downstairs was great in my eyes and it wasn't noisy.

Room Tip: Room 18 was fine...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Verinia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Your kind recommendation means a lot to us here at The Town House, Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich , and we are so glad to hear that your visit was a positive one. We have replied to you personally about your review.
.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

What a shame that the cleanliness of this place lets it down badly. It is in a lovely location and we called by for a carvery lunch on a glorious Sunday lunchtime. The river runs right behind and the setting is lovely.

First the food - £7ish for a carvery lunch which was a choice of 4 meats (turkey, beef, gammon and pork which were all nicely cooked and you could have some of each) was acceptable. There was a choice of roast potatoes, mashed potato, green beans (very nice) cauliflower (too hard), carrots, onions, stuffing and Yorkshire pud. Gravy was available as were horseradish sauce, apple sauce etc. However these were on a separate table and there were several flies buzzing around so I gave them a miss.

The food was adequate but the tables were awful. Scratched and bare and you had to set your own place from cutlery which stood in a pot on the table and was none too clean. Everything was just neglected. Window catches broken, peeling paint, grubby windows and so on. Outside could be a lovely garden but it was also run down and there were actually large buddlea plants growing out of the guttering at the back.

While I was there I heard a staff member telling a customer that they were closing for a few days to have new carpet fitted. Believe me, it needs a lot more than some new carpets! A thorough cleanse from top to bottom, some new hygienic looking tables and a big dollop of TLC.

I wouldn't go there again and I certainly wouldn't feel happy taking friends there as it is so shabby.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PennylaneEastAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

We were sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your visit to TheTown House Restaurant, and we really appreciate the feedback you have given us.
Thank you.
Innkeeper’s Lodge Norwich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews