We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Don Pepe

Don Pepe
Ranked #78 of 817 Restaurants in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Six of us dined here for my Mother's 83rd birthday.
We have all been eating here for the 30 odd years that Jose & Maria have been here and always love the experience. However, I do hope they read these reviews because on the last few visits we have been rushed between courses which has spoilt the evenings a little.
Food and cava was, as always, excellent.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank wendywaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    41
    17
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Don Pepe - Spanish restaurant”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Another chance discovery in Norwich - this authentic Spanish restaurant is run by Spaniards and just sends you right over to Spain! I loved the complimentary welcome tapas of tortilla whilst you browse the menu and the simplicity of the menu, so traditional and reminiscent of various meals I've had in Spain over the years - the constant to and fro of the staff ensuring everyone is looked after - we just loved it. Delicious food and great atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rodrigo7778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Just home from a really wonderful evening at Don Pepe in St. Benedicts Norwich.our first time here but definatley a return visit is a given!! It was almost like going into someone's home for a meal. It was so very cosy and relaxed. The food was A1, there were 7of us ,we all had different starters and main courses and every meal was perfectly cooked, presented and served. We even had silver service which I haven't had for a very long time. An absolutely brilliant place to go for an evening out.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Choice - really enjoyed it”
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely meal there on Saturday night.

Starters of scallops wrapped in bacon was delicious. I had veal in lemon sauce and my wife had the fillet steak.

Cooked really nicely. Liked the atmosphere here too. Will certainly be back

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Simonbloomfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Let down by main courses!”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We went to Don Pepe's for our Wedding Anniversary on the 22nd Mar, as we love Spanish food. The staff were lovely and friendly and the restaurant was quaint and cosy. Our table was booked for 9pm and the place wasn't full. We had our starters which were excellent but as we just finished the last mouthful our main courses arrived. The Dover Sole was overcooked but ok, but the chicken Diablo was very dry in a stodgy cornflour sauce and unpleasant. We felt rushed and very disappointed. We told the staff that we weren't happy with the chicken dish but were still charged for it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shandy090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Pepe also viewed

Norwich, Norfolk
Norwich, Norfolk
 

Been to Don Pepe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing