We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good ratio quality privé for an hôtel close to Railway station”
Review of Stracey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stracey Hotel
Ranked #15 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Hôtel should have interest to indicate clearly how to reach it from the railway which is not too far
The staff is efficient and helpful
The comfort is "all I need" during my fréquent travels in business

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daliankefaqu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (444)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 444 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed 2 nights (Friday & Saturday) and this hotel proved excellent value for money. The owners have certainly made an effort to transform the interior of the hotel and the rooms were well decorated, clean and relatively spacious. Our only complaints on this front were the squeaky bed and a wifi that was not working in our part of the hotel (for those with a laptop, a cable is available but no good if you've a tablet).
Breakfast was included and this was better than expected with the food cooked to order and delivered by friendly staff.
A few reviewers have mentioned car parking and this could have been a challenge but wasn't. You can park on the road from 18.30 in the evening until 08.00 the following morning. There is also a free 2 hour period so we did not actually move the car until 10.00. Just down the road (200m) was an all day car park for £5. Sunday has no parking restrictions.
Our only gripe for the whole weekend concerned the conduct of inconsiderate guests who hit the town on the Saturday night arriving back at the hotel between 1 and 3 in the morning and making a lot of noise. It was difficult to sleep with people chatting outside right under the window, some chatting in the corridor before turning in and the couple of girls next door who were laughing and joking until 3.30. The fact there was no night porter or member of staff to sort this out was a disappointment. This was bad luck.
For those into their real ales, just 100m across the road is the brewery tap of the Chalk Hill Brewery (Coach & Horses). Excellent beer. If that is not enough just 12 minutes walk up the road is another famous real ale pub, The Fat Cat & Canary, operated by the Fat Cat brewery that's based in Norwich.

Room Tip: Try to avoid a room that is directly next to or above the main entrance as you will hear all the com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CambridgeClimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Two of us stayed for a weekend of sightseeing and walking. The hotel is very close to the station so ideal for dropping off luggage, if it's before 'checking in' time. It was very warm ( stayed in Jan.) and clean and comfortable. The room we had was spacious with a good TV and comfortable bed. The only possible addition might be a small coffee table to go with the 2 chairs. The staff were very friendly and helpful and we certainly intend to go again, as it represents great value for money.

Room Tip: Although not a noisy area, the rooms at the back will be very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank VMM2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We were visiting Norwich for the first time - going to a friend's birthday party. The hotel was in a great location - 5 minutes from the station and an easy walk into town. The staff were friendly and helpful and arranged cabs for us when we needed them. The room was clean and comfortable with everything we needed and we will definitely choose this hotel when we next travel to Norwich!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ZoeKayC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

The only thing that I think would improve this hotel is a car park. Did not affect us this visit as we travelled by train and it is indeed only a short walk from the railway station. The room was very clean, comfortable, warm with ample drawer and wardrobe space. The beds were comfortable. The staff were extremely helpful and we hope to return. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank VivaJayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Two of us stayed last night on business. Very clean, friendly and warm. Kelly at reception was very helpful. She even opened breakfast 15 minutes early because we had an early train. 5 minutes to railway station. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeThinK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights over a weekend and it was an excellent choice. Nothing was wrong with the room or the hotel and the staff were very helpful in answering any questions about the city. The room was spacious and comfortable and over a cold January weekend warm enough too. If I come back to Norwich(a great city) I would have no hesitation in staying here again. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank FionaFabBrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
0.7 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#2 of 50 in Norwich
1,252 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#18 of 50 in Norwich
707 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
233 reviews
6.5 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stracey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stracey Hotel

Address: 2 Stracey Road, Norwich NR1 1EZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
Price Range: $84 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stracey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stracey Hotel offers big Hotel chain benefits that the modern traveler demands with that personal touch they can't. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Stracey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stracey Hotel Norwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing