We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel find”
Review of Stracey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stracey Hotel
Ranked #13 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Lovely hotel find”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

After a massive booking issue with another hotel and their chosen site for taking bookings I had got desperate to find somewhere to stay that was city centre and at an acceptable price. I Found the Stracey on laterooms.com when I started searching again using different sites. I was surprised I hadn't found the Stracey before online, as it looked lovely from the pictures online and the reviews from other guests.

I was pleased that it was a short 5 min walk from the train station and not surrounded by all the pubs and clubs of the city I have experienced with many other hotel stays in Norwich. I visit on a regular basis to the city to visit family, so there aren't many places left I haven't stayed at. This hotel by far is one of the best. And i shall certainly stay again. Best hotel breakfast I've had in the city also.

Points to note for those looking to book -
The staff are lovely and very helpful.
Accessibility for the disabled is limited, as the main entrance is up several steps as are all but one single room.

Room Tip: If you adding any details regarding your stay be sure to call and check the staff have seen them, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Charlotte F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    175
    43
    9
    2
See reviews for
57
144
46
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Staff were very friendly and obliging, we were made to feel very welcome from the moment we arrived.
Our room was spacious, clean, comfortable and modern, although bed was very hard and neither of us slept too well in it but that's personal taste.
The breakfast was delicious.and more than adequate.
An all round excellent hotel which we enjoyed staying in and will certainly use again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lovelyhayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This is about the 3rd time I have used the Stracey and have always found the rooms to be clean, smart and well equipped. Staff are always friendly and helpful, breakfasts tasty and perfectly cooked. This visit was no exception, well done and thank you.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Karl_from_York
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed at this Hotel many times and it never disappoints. Bedroom and ensuite was spotlessly clean and had ample tea/coffee and biscuits in the rooms. Full English breakfast was extremely generous. Staff very pleasant and professional. Great value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2013

The friendly staff, all one of him!, was pleasant & inviting when we arrived mid afternoon. The room was clean, it had good natural light and the fixtures & fittings were modern. The shower, in particular, was very good. The breakfast was good and once again the very friendly staff - yes him again! - were obliging and the service was swift. All in all a very pleasurable experience and certainly worth the £75 we spent for the night.
Two very slight negatives; 1) The room windows transmitted all the street noise, despite being fully closed, which was quite annoying and 2) The car parking restrictions really should have been mentioned on the Hotel website. Their absence caused a little delay in being able to park-up for the night.
I would highly recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid the cheaper hotel options in Norwich, pay the extra and you won't need to take the valium...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mr_Jones701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 28, 2013

From top to bottom I will be staying here whenever I come to Norwich. Bright, happy, great staff and great bargain. Being from the states this is a place that understands service and what it means. Don't listen to the brand name hotels just rrmember the Stracey hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123uluvme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Brilliant hotel, close to the train station and ten minute's from the town, centre, very clean and spacious, helpful staff and a fantastic breakfast.
A hotel where you can chill and relax and just come and go as you please.
excellent, will be returning again, would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank claire h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.7 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
0.3 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#27 of 50 in Norwich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stracey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stracey Hotel

Property: Stracey Hotel
Address: 2 Stracey Road, Norwich NR1 1EZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Stracey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stracey Hotel offers big Hotel chain benefits that the modern traveler demands with that personal touch they can't. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Stracey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stracey Hotel Norwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing