We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food, congenial host.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bishop's Dining Room & Wine Bar

Bishop's Dining Room & Wine Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Bishop's Dining Room & Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 812 Restaurants in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: A small, intimate restaurant perfectly situated on the oldest lane in Norwich, Bishops Dining Room and Wine Bar is everything you would expect from a fine dining restaurant and more. Our welcoming, relaxed atmosphere will ensure you and your guests have an experience to treasure.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely food, congenial host.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Have eaten here about 5 times in the last 18 months, for lunch once.
A really charming host, great wines and great service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    68
    21
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fakenham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

My wife and I had a very nice Saturday lunch here. It is small, and it should be noted that its intimate nature would not be suitable for families. Service is excellent and unassuming, and the food was very good within its own ambitions - that's not damning with faint praise, it's very good value for the quality of food at £13.95 for two courses, and £16.95 for three. I would only give five stars for an exceptional experience, but I would have no hesitation coming here again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RodC77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stopped off, with no prior reservation and the staff were nothing but helpful. We were provided with a table for two on a Saturday lunch time, when they were clearly busy, and the food was delicious!

To secure a reservation, I feel it would be advisable to book in advance, as we were clearly very lucky on the day. I have a food intolerance, and even that was not a problem at such short notice.
I am sure I will be back soon and I am amazed we have not visited before!

Thank you to all concerned.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank julie_info
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

We had lunch at Bishop's on a rainy Tuesday in September. Hadn't been before so we were going solely on Trip Advisor recommendations. We were not disappointed. No problem booking by telephone on the morning. Alex was polite, pleasant and most helpful. The dining room has an elegant yet intimate feel. A good range of choices on the menu. The set lunch menu was reasonably priced. The food was well presented and good. We took two hours over the meal from one to three o'clock and never felt hurried or unwelcome. Will definitely go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank michaeledward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Excellent food and service. Delightful little room. Although they said they couldn't supply a birthday cake, they let us bring one with us and were very helpful and accommodating.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennniffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bishop's Dining Room & Wine Bar also viewed

Stoke Holy Cross, Norwich
Framingham Pigot, Norwich
 
Norwich, Norfolk
 

Been to Bishop's Dining Room & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing