We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay at Arrandale Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arrandale Lodge Guest House
Ranked #10 of 80 Norwich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Spent 6 nights at Arrandale while getting my daughter settled in at UEA.
Even before we arrived Olga and Maurice were helpful: My daughter is subletting a room and was able to arrange that the room keys could be left at Arrandale as we arrived New Years day and no one would be able to meet her at her apartment.
We arrived in Norwich early morning and were lucky enough to check in early .
A lovely room with a double bed, african themed, large ensuite. Guest can come and go as they please with their own entry. If you do not want to be in your room all evening , there is a lovely guest lounge.
Breakfast is in a bright breakfast room: tea, coffee, juice, cereal, fruit granola, yoghurt..followed by a full english breakfast.
Bus stop is right next door..easy ride to downtown.
Lots of tourist information available , your hosts will also recommend nearby restaurants.
What impressed me the most was their sincere interest in their guests. They always had time for a morning chat...and seemed to remember previous conversations. There were quite a few returning guests, with which they seemed to be well acquainted.
Safe , clean, comfortable, personable and affordable...what more could one ask for.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farmwife16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 296 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2013

Very reasonably priced B&B, about 15 mins walk to UEA (which is why I was there with my son), very close to bus stop to UEA/Hospital or town center (that is walkable but half hour plus)

Owners were very welcoming, helped out in terms of finding places to eat (we went to Earlham Arms, which was nice inside, good food not too pricey, but quite limited menu). Good breakfast, usual cooked plus cereals, fruit, yoghurts etc, but good range of all this.

Bedroom was large for a twin, with desk, TV, etc. Free wifi which was also fast.

Excellent value.

Room Tip: We stayed in a front room and traffic was not an issue by 10ish, but if you need to get to sleep ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeFLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I'm not usually a fan of b&b's but stayed here for work at it was lovely.

Highlights:
-My room was gorgeous and beautifully appointed.
-Bed and bedding were so comfy.
-Breakfast included and made to order as you like it.
-Very close to UEA and the town centre.
-Amenities provided in room including a bottle of water, shave kit in bathroom etc. and lovely bathrobes.
-Free wifi in the room.

Area for improvement:
-Water pressure in shower could be better but it's perfectly adequate.


Room 4 would have been lovely for a couple. I think if a major hotel had rooms and service to this standard it would cost you 2 or 3 times as much so great value for money.

Room Tip: Room 4 was mine and it was stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phoenixf3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Our family group (4 adults) stayed here for 2 nights in mid-December 2012. The guest house is spotlessly clean, beautifully furnished and the rooms themselves are lovely. Olga and Maurice are perfect hosts and we cannot recommend this place highly enough.

Room Tip: We had room 5 which is spacious, with a large separate bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SWhite169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I stayed here last April with my mum, sister, and our friend during my first visit to England. Not only was it beautiful, but Olga and Maurice were incredibly nice. Breakfast was fantastic, the beds were clean and comfortable, and each room had it's own adorable decor. It was close to the University, as well.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mnbarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Just enjoyed another comfortable night at this wonderfully clean and friendly guest lodge in Norwich. Thanks Olga and Maurice for your excellent hospitality and lovely breakfast. Will see you again when next I visit Norwich. Ian C

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Icy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Close to the main bus route into the city centre and within walking distance of the city and the University of East Anglia this is an ideally located B&B. The hosts are relaxed and extremely welcoming to international visitors and the breakfast is freshly made and generously proportioned. My first choice whenever I visit Norwich.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alistair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norwich hotels
1.7 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#2 of 50 in Norwich
1,229 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mercure Norwich Hotel
Mercure Norwich Hotel
#24 of 50 in Norwich
698 reviews
1.3 mi away
38 St Giles Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Wensum Guest House
Wensum Guest House
#16 of 80 in Norwich
255 reviews
13.7 mi away
The White House Bed & Breakfast
2.5 mi away
Copperfields Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrandale Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrandale Lodge Guest House

Address: 431 Earlham Road, Norwich NR4 7HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Norwich
Price Range: $134 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arrandale Lodge Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you on arrival. From the moment you check-in to the time you check-out you will be looked after by us personally. Excellent hospitality and convenience whether you are visiting Norwich for business or pleasure. A variety of rooms available to suit your individual needs. All rooms in our guest house are warm, comfortable and clean and are furnished to a high standard and all feature new modern en-suites. Free 3-4 GB Fast Wireless broadband Internet facilities in all rooms Ample car parking on our premises. We are situated within walking distance of the University of East Anglia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Arrandale Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing