We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a sad chiploata for breakfast and small double for £140?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
38 St Giles Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 80 Norwich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed last night as always wanted to visit the B&B with such glowing reviews. St Giles over the road offers a great deal with free room if you have dinner but though this place must be visited with excitement to be spoilt for a night after a busy week.

The welcome was indifferent and booking.com lisited the room with large bed but sadly it was only a regular double. The location is excellent as are many of the personal touches but overall I feel it really had many little faults and bed was too hard and too smal and the room was too hot even in Februaryl. We soon used up the small glass bottle water and tap water was not pleasant.

Raised nail in the wooden flooring, broken bath to drain water and no bathrobes only on request was a real disappointment . Some nice toiletries but only 1 small bottle of each it would not be enough for 2 people to use once let alone the following morning.

This place could be a real gem but I think we were unlucky or some general maintenance is required for the summer as for £140 we wanted some wow factor to relax with for a night away from the pressures of work and life. I wish we had stayed at St Giles for the £85 offer on dinner with free room and breakfast it would have been more comfortable from past visits.

The TV is too complicated and fixed to the wall so not a good viewing angle from bed. I am a tech 30 something and even I struggled with the remote.

The breakfast too was sadly very average and no toast offered until we finished with a very sad chipolata. Nice quality bacon and eggs but come on buy a local sausage and offer some beans or other juices to guests. The tables too are also squeezed into a small dining room so you can't avoid hearing other peoples conversations. I think in the summer it would be too hot to relax in.

Pleased we stayed but overall too expensive and we would not return which is a shame as we hoped for more to bring up friends to explore the great city of Norwich.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lordhume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (345)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 345 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

I visit Norwich regularly and have stayed in most of the good hotels in town. 38 St. Giles is better than any of them. It is beautifully decorated with really good quality furniture and an inspired eye for design. The beds are cozily luxurious and the breakfast is delicious - I had lovely poached plums and yoghurt followed by poached eggs on wilted spinach. The full British looked amazing too. Finally, the location is just perfect. You are right in the heart of Norwich, just a short walk from everything. In all, highly recommended. I will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alizac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here by accident thinking that I had booked into St Giles House Hotel but was pleasantly surprised and now I will always stay there when in Norwich! Room was really comfortable and the small details really go a long way, breakfast was incredible! Looking forward to my next visit!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sharon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We had a lovely, relaxing stay at 38 St Giles. The location is fabulous; right on the edge of the city centre, within reach of all the restaurants, bars, attractions and shops. Nevertheless, it was quiet at night, and we had a wonderful nights' sleep. The staff are helpful, attentive but not intrusive. The breakfast was divine! Our room was actually a little suite with a sitting room and separate toilet, which was nice.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Room was very comfortable,beautifully decorated and furnsihed. Location is perfect for the city centre. Hosts are very friendly and helpfull . Breakfast was lovely. Will be returning. I could not fault this B & B.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clare t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This place is a true gem. The owners are incredibly helpful and accommodating to every need. Room was 5 star as was the amazing breakfast. I cannot recommend this slice of luxury highly enough. Don't look any further - book it!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissPiggygoeswest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

This is a very convenient, central location. It was ideal for walking the City of Norwich. Our room was extremely comfortable and tastefully decorated. Breakfast provided a splendid choice of freshly cooked alternatives. The owner could scarcely have been more helpful in his local knowledge and advice. This was an upmarket intimate alternative to staying in a four star
hotel. There was a secure parking place very close by ( additional cost). All in all, we would thoroughly recommend this place for those looking for high standards in B&B accommodation.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0 mi away
St Giles House Hotel
St Giles House Hotel
#13 of 50 in Norwich
693 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#2 of 50 in Norwich
1,252 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,226 reviews
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
4.9 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 38 St Giles Boutique Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 38 St Giles Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Address: 38 St. Giles Street, Norwich NR2 1LL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Norwich
Price Range: $178 - $417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — 38 St Giles Boutique Bed & Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
38 St Giles is a grand house with a long and interesting history. It was built in 1700 for the Gurney family and became home to the former Lord Mayor of Norwich. Its neatly tucked-away entrance just off St Giles Street creates an intimacy and privacy that is unrivalled. We are the most centrally located boutique accommodation in Norwich, a stone's throw from the largest outdoor covered marketplace in the UK and adjacent to 'the lanes' - one of the oldest parts of this fine city and an area of national repute boasting well over 200 independent retailers of fashion, food and just about anything else that you might wish to buy. Inside the main entrance we have a grand staircase from which most of the bedrooms are accessed. From our wonderful double rooms to our two large suites you will be surrounded in comfort and a sense of history. We have chosen an eclectic mix of traditional and contemporary pieces of furniture & artefacts, sumptuous throws, cushions and rugs. Our bathrooms feature oversized walk-in showers and rain shower heads, several rooms also have baths. White, fluffy towels and a range of quality toiletries help ensure that your morning ablutions are a positive experience! In selecting our bedding we have chosen simply embroidered 400 thread count white Egyptian cotton (not easy to iron but wonderful next to the skin) with goose down and feather pillows and duvets. Homemade cakes are served on arrival with a choice of teas or our specially blended and locally roasted coffee. We bake our own bread, make our own preserves and source all of our ingredients from the best local suppliers. No corners are cut in attempting to provide you with a relaxing, comfortable and memorable stay. We are happy to cater for small wedding parties, birthdays, anniversaries and other group bookings. We can even create a special meal with fine wines and champagne on arrival for that extra special treat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your 38 St Giles Boutique Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
38 St Giles Hotel Norwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing