We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“weekend break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Bell Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blue Bell Lodge
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Middlesbrough
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“weekend break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

stayed at the bluebell for a couple of nights nice rooms the bar and outside could do with a lick of paint as looking really tired nice breakfast shame about the lady that was serving it dont think she was a morning person otherwise ok

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tr0tter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    44
    41
    23
    20
See reviews for
28
38
15
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

In the area on business for a couple of weeks on a tight budget. Looking for something clean and user-friendly given that I would be working hard and have a low threshold for annoying, time-consuming niggles and, especially, poor service (I don't expect airs and graces, but don't want to be treated like an annoying interruption to the staffs day as frequently happens in mid to lower budget establishments).
Needn't have been concerned at all. I can honestly say that the service was absolutely first class: down to earth, problem solving, friendly and engaging staff on virtually every single occasion (one slightly offish (young) bar-woman who was conspicuous by her unnecessarily defensive "it's not my fault" attitude, wholly out of kilter with the others who really could not have been better). Particularly impressed with the hands-on management team, receptionists, bar staff and cleaners. Oh: that's everyone I guess. My room was small but very comfortable: TV worked (once the remote's batteries were changed by the manager, without fuss and with an apology, within 2 minutes of calling down to reception). Excellent shower; firm and very comfortable bed; particularly good (and generous supply of) shortbread biscuits. A special mention to the cleaning staff who, despite being down by a number of team members due to illness, we're very, very thorough EVERY day.

The food is, as others have noted, very reasonably priced and quite delicious. Obviously not haute quisine but having been through the menu, I couldn't fault a thing (the pie and mash and ribs being highlights). Only had the occasional breakfast but each time it was spot on: how much choice do you want for need for breakfast? Good range of cereals and juice, eggs however you like (perfect poached), full breakfast always available - and again, friendly, engaging service.

First review of this kind that I have been bothered to sit and send in for quite sometime and that, I think, says it all: an 'old school' 'Lodge': honest, no bull, does what it says it will do with a smile and a joke: exactly the opposite of most places in London. I'll certainly be back on my next trip up.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeanHLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
180 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

I like this place for drinks and sitting outside in the summer but avoid Sunday Lunch here, Veg over cooked and the mash was bouncy like playdoh, very strange. The desert was nice. The rooms are also very dingey, we had family stay here for a wedding and they would never stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for one might recently. I was a bit wary because of the reviews, but it was a very pleasant surprise. Friendly staff, ample parking, warm room ( good), and a delicious cooked breakfast. Only downside, wifi a bit feeble and TV in room only received BBC1.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilbandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

just spent two nights at this hotel for the first time, We will go back and would recommend this place to you,
We ate and drank in the restaurant which is very well priced and the food was realy nice
The hotel has a seperate bar away from the hotel rooms so you get a very quiet night's sleep,
The staff are realy nice and helpful,
We stayed in room 120 from friday the 31st august untill the 2nd september and wished we had booked longer
If you want a relaxing holiday then book this hotel

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boss4262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

On checking in we where told we would have to leave the hotel before 9am on the sunday morning as the whole road was closed off, we had planned to look around middlesborough the sunday morning and because this road was closed ended up leaving the saturday night as it seemed silly to rush around the next morning, this wasnt their fault but we where never advised this when the hotel was booked even though we only booked a few weeks ago.
The hotel is at the back of the pub and doesnt look exactly as it does on the photograph, the rooms are fine though, clean and well equipped. The food in the pub was also fine for the price, but the pub was very busy so I would advise trying to go down early to eat (we went in at 7 and couldnt get a table for 15 minutes and even bar seats were taken)
Staff were friendly enough and breakfast was okay, my husband had the full english which was 2 sausages, 2 bacon, 1 egg and a half of a mushroom, there were cereals and toast which you could help yourself to.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 298Mitzymoo298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights 11/08/2012 as part of a coach tour the room was quite comfortable and the staff polite and helpfull.For our evening meal we had the set menu if your into school diners you'll enjoy it we were told the bar meals were much better. The breakfast was basically a six item breakfast, but a good number of the party only got five and not necessarily the same five. to have toast they has 2 2 slice toasters which for a party of 48 people didn't really work + the bread didn't fit the toaster , basically good for a stay over but find somewhere to eat

Room Tip: Get a room as far way as possible from the entrarace dooor to the rooms orFind another Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jim b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Middlesbrough hotels
0.9 mi away
Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Middlesbrough Central South Hotel
3.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Middlesbrough
Jurys Inn Middlesbrough
#6 of 11 in Middlesbrough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Middlesbrough - Centre Square
2.8 mi away
Baltimore Hotel
Baltimore Hotel
#4 of 11 in Middlesbrough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
1.6 mi away
Marton Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Bell Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bell Lodge

Property: Blue Bell Lodge
Address: Acklam Road | Tees Valley, Middlesbrough TS5 7HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Middlesbrough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Middlesbrough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Bell Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Blue Bell Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Bell Hotel Middlesbrough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing