We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (864)
Filter reviews
864 results
Traveler rating
113
207
216
145
183
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
113
207
216
145
183
Show reviews that mention
All reviews leisure facilities national holidays steam room couldn't fault full english tea and coffee breakfast was excellent poste
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 864 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2019

I have to agree with Lucy 230199 hence the same title. Good choice of evening meal, part served and part self- service - even though large wedding party to cater for in adjacent room.
Difference in holiday was we travelled with National Holidays. This involved a Visit to Durham before reaching hotel and trips to Whitby and Pickering on return home. Superb driver Gary was icing on the cake

Date of stay: April 2019
1  Thank A T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2019 via mobile

second stay here and ivshould ave stuck to my head and not come this time second experience worst than the first only gd point was reception staff who booked us in the bed uncomfortable tv didnt work breakfast was cold uninviting and the staff so rude i felt uncomfortable never in my life of staying in hotels have i been so disappointed

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank lauracoulam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2019 via mobile

I stayed here recently for my boyfriends birthday, it was amazing, real value for your money! For £45 you get all day access to the gym, swimming pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna! The girls changing rooms have proper hairdryers ( not them cheap horrible nasty ones that you have to pay 20p for!) Also check out is at 11am not like some hotels that kick you out at 9am! Breakfast was gorgeous for an extra £8 per person but I was not let down... Variety of different options...cooked breakfast, cereals, toast (white or brown) with butter, jam marmalade etc, yoghurts, fruits, pastry’s (VERY NICE), high quality coffee machine (that does gorgeous cappuccinos! , and an orange/apple juice machine! Staff are very friendly and welcoming. Would highly recommend!

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Lucy230199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2019 via mobile

booked a table for 5 at 1pm. When we arrived the girl at the stand said our booking wasnt there. I pointed it out further down the sheet where we had been put down for 1.30 . she looked very much like she didnt want to be there as was the same of the facial expression on all the floor staff) No apology for the mix up , we were just told to get a drink at the bar as " there were no tables set at the moment" no hint of being told someone would come and get us when it was ready. drinks took 15 minutes as 3 staff struggled to get the pepsi to work so we swapped for lemonade. I went to find the lady who sent us to the bar to ask what table we were on and if we could put the drinks on a tab. she said" was it for 5?" il just get them to put these tables together for you ( which they could have done initially ) before we sat down we contemplated leaving , waiting staff twirling chewing gum around in their mouth while walking around with food and not a smile on the staff in sight. hunger got the better of us and we decided to stay. we went to the table and straight to the carvery. the chefs were very friendly and the food was lovely and tasty ( apart from the turkey which was very dry.)
overall. The floor staff we encountered ruined the experience ( could easily have been 4-5 stars). they look angry that people want to eat there and are rude, very stressed and unhelpful. couldnt really fault the meal apart from the turkey. the chefs should show the waiting staff how to handle the customers

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Jononeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2019 via mobile

Got the keys to our room at 6pm. Got in to the room and the room was thick with dust and a actual boggies on the duvet cover. Called reception and asked for someone to come and change the duvet. Was told the manager would come up. We were waiting to go out for dinner so went and explained to reception we were going for dinner but for the manager just to go in. Explained that the room was also thick with dust and I have asthma. Was told again they would be busy but the manager would definitely be in. Absolutely nothing. My mum had to sleep with no duvet and spent the night cold as she wasn't and shouldn't have to sleep with a dirty duvet cover.

Went for dinner and stood in a que, got there and was told the staff bring over your starter and dessert. It would have been nice of staff to a actually explain the protocol.

Have ruined my mum's birthday overnight.

For customers to complain twice and still nothing to be done about it and put people's health is jeopardy is absolutely ridiculous and terrible customer service.

Will 100% never been back in this disgusting place.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank C9FAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews