We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value for money!!”
Review of The Stainton

The Stainton
Ranked #56 of 302 Restaurants in Middlesbrough
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic value for money!!”
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Went back to visit and had the 3 courses for £13. Fantastic value for money!! Staff very friendly with some good banter goingbon with regulars which is nice to see. Keep up the good work!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lovehandbags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    33
    20
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Should I go back”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Had a lovely car very food was excellent just a bit disappointed with the lady who took your order bit of a attitude towards staff and some off the customers. Also young children running behind the bar. Don't think I'll go there again

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Goodytwoshoes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough - uk
Level Contributor
98 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Ok”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Just had a Sunday carvery at the Stainton. Had heard good things about the food served here and have to admit I can only comment on the Sunday dinner right now as it was my first visit.

Got the distinct impression they felt they had to offer a carvery to keep up with local competition. By that I mean the additional heated trolley where the small selection of veg was just got in the way. 2 people using it and it was busy. The service wasn't great, asked to vacate our table whilst we were finishing our drinks, told to move the high chair that we had to set up ourselves, dessert menu was read out much like a memory game which you had to try and recall hoping you hadn't missed anything off. Once delivered it was clear it had been microwaved as it was far too hot to eat, my wife's custard was even bubbling.

The food was ok and I ate it so fairs fair, not the best but the worst. Would give it another try but not on a Sunday.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MJ58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quick Lunch”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stopped by for a very quick lunch. 2 Course for only £7.45 and very good value it was ! made very welcome and well looked after too !

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thesilverfox_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“leaving do”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

As always, the food is beyond excellent, as is the staff. the service is second to none, and.........the toilet facilities are divine!!!!!! being a locol of 20 years or more, this is how i remember a pub should be run..... massive thanks to frankie , debs, and the one and only tony for there impeccable service with everything that they have pulled off in the last four weeks, as i say , absolutly top class service , thank you xxx

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Stainton also viewed

Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire
Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire
 
Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire
Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Stainton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing