We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Early Christmas celebration”

Waterside Brasserie at Middlesbrough College
Ranked #32 of 291 Restaurants in Middlesbrough
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Waterside Brasserie is a training Restaurant within Middlesbrough College and our aim is to provide high standards of food and drink service to customers whilst learners gain valuable and practical skills in readiness for employment. We offer lunches 5 days a week and dinners two evenings a week at competitive prices. Please look at our web page by accessing Middlesbrough College website and choosing Waterside Brasserie.
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Early Christmas celebration”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

Once again we decided to go here for our office Christmas meal and were not disappointed. Decided to celebrate Christmas early and found the experience both relaxing and very enjoyable - the students couldnt do enough for us. Lovely food and excellent value. We'll be back again next year if not before!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzywonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    19
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An inexpensive delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

I found this restaurant after checking places to eat in Middlesbrough on Tripadvisor. It was a brilliant experience and really great food - only £8.95 for 3 courses and coffee. We had a parfait starter that was well presented on a wooden platter. For main we both selected roast pork loin that came with crispy pieces of crackling; the individual dishes of vegetables were perfectly cooked. Lastly we had a panna cotta. with raspberry coulis which was not too sweet.Coffee came with the hot milk that we requested. The wine was lovely and also Inexpensive. I felt the meal was enhanced by the hard work of all the students - some only eight weeks into their role. They were attentive, cheerful and clearly well trained. The restaurant was full so it had a good atmosphere
and from my seat I looked over to the amazing Temenos sculpture.
We bought homemade scones and a jar of their own spiced apple chutney to take home with us.
I had been concerned about parking and accessing the first floor restaurant, as I was with my mother who has mobility problems, but when I made the phone booking the restaurant manager even sorted this: I was put through to the car park staff who arranged to reserve a space near to the college entrance. We really appreciated this and it went to plan. Middlesbrough College is in a regenerated area new to me, it is forty years since I lived in the North East, but the sat nav got us
straight there.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PSRRotherham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“An enjoyable experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

Difficult to review this restaurant. The food was very good and very reasonably priced but the service was a bit amateurish - but, lets face it, the staff ARE amateurs. Our waiter 16 year old Luke was understandibly nervous. I think we did a decent job of putting him at ease and giving him some advice and I think he learned a lot. Isn't this what this establishment is all about?
If you make allowances for this you will, like us, have a thoroughly enjoyable experience.
Don't expect to burn the midnight oil though. The students need to pack in early

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Derrick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Will be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Came across this while looking through the College prospectus my son had got at a careers day. As 5 star on this site decided to go and were highly impressed. Choice of 3 options for each of the 3 courses, service excellent though understandably lacking in confidence at times. Food high quality and well cooked/presented. Alcohol also well priced - would easily have paid double anywhere else for what we had. Only downsides would be parking if you went at lunchtime and evening meals require arrival by 6.30. However with college the next day for the students that is necessary. Was slightly concerned it would resemble a cafeteria but it felt like a modern restaurant. Please go -how else can students gain experience?

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank familyb5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boosbeck, null, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Happy customer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Would highly reccomend this resturant, was very impressed as didin't know what to expect with the chefs being in training, but what a lovely suprise as the food was absolutley lovely and would have expected to pay double anywhere else, a big thank you to all the staff on the night, your food and hospitality was fantastic, well done.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterside Brasserie at Middlesbrough College also viewed

Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire
Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire
 
Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire
Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire
 
Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire
Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Waterside Brasserie at Middlesbrough College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing