We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (301)
Filter reviews
301 results
Traveler rating
57
83
60
52
49
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
57
83
60
52
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviews busy pub warm room staff were brilliant small room one night stay great value for money wiring gins
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 301 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2019

We live locally and popped in to the bar to watch a football match that Sky had listed as being on at The Highfield. It was a Saturday night so relatively busy however no-one was watching football. Sky Sports was on and I asked (twice) if it was possible to watch the match which one of the female bar staff kindly put on for us. We settled in for the night and had decided spend our time there trying the array of gins on offer. Within ten minutes one of the male bar staff changed the channel to a non local game and after the female bar member had a word with him, refused to change the channel back. We left and found somewhere else to meet our friends, spend our money and watch the game. We have booked rooms there for visitors, had my Dad’s 70th birthday party as well as numerous meals over the years. Some good, some bad and the occasional terrible but always willing to give it a chance as it is local. It’s like flogging a dead horse, don't recommend it, never again!

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Getaway817057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2019 via mobile

I’ve stayed numerous times over the last 12 mths, while my wife has been in hospital. Very handy for James Cook hospital. Excellent prices for food and drink. Very friendly, hardworking staff. Only thing is I found the rooms too hot, but that’s just a personal thing.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank Chris7152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2019

Hotel is above a pub. When we went downstairs we noticed how loud it was. We both commented on how we couldn’t hear the noise from our room. Our room could of done with a spruce up in the on-suite. Plenty of hot water and breakfast cooked to what you like. For the price excellent value for money. If you expecting a posh hotel up to top notch. Go pay them prices.
Not suitable for Family.

Room tip: Not suitable for Family. too loud
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mamun R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighfieldHorse, Front Office Manager at Highfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2019

We are glad the noise from the pub did not affect your stay with us, We will take on board your comments about the bathroom, We hope you had a nice stay and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2019 via mobile

Ample parking. Large hotel catering for a wide range people. The variety of meals is extensive and value for money. Has a 5 star rating. And I will be visiting again soon for another birthday treat very easy to find on a major road. The establishment is light bright and spacious

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Billy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighfieldHorse, Front Office Manager at Highfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2019

Thankyou for your lovely comments we are glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2019 via mobile

Often come here for tea! Great value for money, especially on a Friday for BOGOF burgers! Portions are huge and food tastes lovely, Staff are wonderful and always happy to help. Good atmosphere, one of my favourite places to take the kids.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Fmfmfm9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighfieldHorse, Front Office Manager at Highfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2019

Thankyou for your review, We are glad you enjoyed your visit at The Highfield and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews