We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“signs are deceiving its within the highfield pub”
Review of Highfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Highfield Hotel
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Middlesbrough
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The location looks a bit stark but it is a hotel within a busy pub and was perfect for what I wanted there is pool, darts Sky real ale loads of inexpensive food very nice staff and the room was comfortable handy for the town centre.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iantoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 252 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2012

I recently spent one night at this hotel for a work trip to Middlesbrough. I was initiallly a little worried when driving in to the sight of a sign reading: 'Kids eat free', but I need'nt have worried as the family-friendly conveyor belt style pub restaurant was on the opposite side of the building, meaning the hotel rooms were nice and quiet. Talking of which, my tastefully decorated room was clean, spacious and well heated.

Having arrived quite late I decided to eat in the adjoining restaurant, which was fairly well priced, but everything tasted of microwaved cardboard! The following morning, breakfast consisted of a buffet continental table and orderable full English. Again the food wasn't bad, but it wasn't great either.

Overall the plus points: Free parking, staff were cheerful and friendly, large rooms, well heated, clean.

The downside: Staff seemed a little few and far between (but were very pleasant), food was more cheap than cheerful, the 'kids eat free' style restaurant might be a turn off for some.

Overall: If I'm ever in Middlesbrough again I won't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Res4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I stayed here at short notice, and found it very pleasant indeed. Good breakfast, well cooked. The staff were all very friendly, and the room comfortable and clean. I stay in Middlesbrough fairly regularly and it is abysmally served for hotels. This is of a decent quality, but it may not be the best value.

Further from town centre then you might think, though

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharmlessNerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

a complete joy from checking in, to ordering a drink and food and then breakfast all thanks to the staff that work here. the young lady on check inn was so polite, i wish other check in staff was more like her. the bar and restaraunt staff again were just as polite. the room was sdpacious and clean the only down side was the windows were jammed shut. powerful shower and spacious and clean bathroom. the food was cheap, but unfortunately tasted it as well. would that put me off? no, because of the staff i would return when next in the area

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the Best Western for business and was very impressed with the whole place
It has been modernised considerably and the restaurant has become a Hungry Horse pub with excellent food at really great value for money
The staff are all very cheerful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them
The rooms I stayed in over the four visits I have made were all very comfortable but the superior rooms were well worth the extra money per night and are very modern and stylish
If I need to go back to Middlesbrough then I would definitely return here rather than the big chain attached to the carvery down the road

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Spent a night at this hotel which is frequented by local residents in the surrounding houses. No need to dress up. We had lunch here but menu although extensive is prety much deep fryer type fare. The music is loud and stops for no apparent reason after a short period of time. Dont expect to get a full song!! The rooms are certainly clean and reasonably presented but one of our group had a room on the first floor, informed the reception of a toilet not flushing which was not fixed for the duration of the stay. No refund offered or change of room so the maid will have had an unwanted tip to deal with. Great Western. You know you can do better!!

Room Tip: 2nd floor overlooking the entrance are quiet rooms however the ground floor through the restaurant a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBW59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

The receptionist was fabulous and very helpful.

My room was clean and comfortable.

By preference I would like a restaurant meal in quieter surroundings. Dinner is now in the bar where it can be impossible to find a table and you are surrounded by families with screaming and very noisy kids, there is nowhere to go to escape this. The food is decent enough pub grub but not what I would choose to eat. It is reasonably priced and plentiful but caters more to families on a budget than hotel guests.

Breakfast was sparse and I had to request bread as there was none left. The toaster is appalling, I had to put it through three times before it was 'toast' rather than 'hard bread'. The cooked breakfast was better than previously but nothing particularly outstanding.

I would stay here again but would look to eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TashaKUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middlesbrough
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Middlesbrough - Centre Square
0.4 mi away
Baltimore Hotel
Baltimore Hotel
#6 of 11 in Middlesbrough
210 reviews
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Middlesbrough
Travelodge Middlesbrough
#4 of 11 in Middlesbrough
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Metro Inns Teesside
Metro Inns Teesside
#8 of 9 in Stockton-on-Tees
102 reviews
3 mi away
Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Middlesbrough Central South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield Hotel

Address: Marton Road, Middlesbrough TS4 2PA, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Middlesbrough)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Middlesbrough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Middlesbrough
Price Range: $43 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Highfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Highfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Middlesbrough
Middlesbrough Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing