We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where's the gravy”
Review of Riverside Stadium

Riverside Stadium
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Where's the gravy”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I recently went to the Riverside with a group of friends for Sunday lunch. The staff were very nice and the only criticism would be that when asked about a certain dish the waitress was not sure what it was. I personally felt the meal was a bit rushed, there was not enough menu's at the table and we were expected to make our decision immediately. The food was of a good quality but there was very little gravy on the plate, I asked for extra gravy, actually I asked for a bucket full - there was 9 of us, and I received one small gravy boat, gravy is not that expensive so why not give plenty. As I said the food was good and the meat was cooked beautifully but would I go again - not unless they improve the gravy boat situation, who wants dry roast pots and veggies - not me.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank coppernorthyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    57
    22
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
452 reviews
273 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“NICE STADIUM BUT WHERE HAVE ALL THE GOOD TIMES GONE?”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

My wife and I have been season ticket holders at the Boro’s Riverside Stadium since it opened in 1995 and, while it’s now looking somewhat less than lavish, it’s still a smashing stadium with excellent facilities (and well worth a visit). Over the years we’ve made many friends and still meet them there often. However, it’s just a shame that the standard of football been played there in last few years hasn’t managed to pass the test of time as well.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
119 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Up the Boro!”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

A great stadium, was one of the new "breed" following Hillsborough and Bradford disasters. Have seen loads of games here, and when there is a big game on it really rocks. Boro fans are very vocal, plenty of wit and wisdom. Have always felt safe here, and stewards/staff always seem helpful and cheerful. The Club shop is worth a visit for supporter buys, and has plenty of sale bargains at the back end of the season.
Still living on the 8:1 thrashing of Sven's Man City. Those were the days!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Historylovergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
369 reviews
187 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“A personal touch”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I came to The Boro for mother's day to remember mam who was a Boro lass. I booked a tour and was the only person on the tour. The guide was very helpful and now I have loads of photos because he was kind enough to take them all with me standing at all the important parts. A must for any body even vaguely connected to the area.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mintyburble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north-east
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“match visit”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

the actual game was good and the craic of the supporters was excellent, the facilities were average with long queues and not enough staff the stewards were unhelpful and surly. This observed on other groups of supporters as we had no reason to ask them anything

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank davythegravy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riverside Stadium also viewed

Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire
Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire
 
Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire
Marton, Middlesbrough
 

Been to Riverside Stadium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing