We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food but lacking in other areas”

Jamal's Fine Indian Restaurant
Ranked #49 of 298 Restaurants in Middlesbrough
Cuisines: Indian, Balti, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good food but lacking in other areas”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

The food was really nice, priced a little higher than competitors around the area but not something which would deter me from returning. The waiter was a little useless, we waited about 20 minutes to finally order something as we had to wait for the chef to finish cooking to take our order. The decor is dated and could do with a little update, I would return again!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seanthain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    46
    17
    6
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very poor attitude of staffs”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

I happen to witness this very poor attitude of one of the staff and other probably the owner, towards a young couple with their child who might be 2 or 3 years old. The child was like any other child of the same age group, playing with her parents. I heard the staff telling the parents to ask the child to be quiet on 2 occasions. Rude!!!
I think the parents got annoyed and wanted to leave the restaurant and asked for the food ordered to be given as take away. I was shocked to hear the owner saying "No take away here". Then he realised we were looking at the young parents and then asked his staff to give it as take away.... very rude!
I will not recommend families with young kids ever think to step in to this restaurant. I will never go to this restaurant ever....

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank N K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n.west of england
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice touches but not the finished article”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

When reviews said the chef would make all meals himself I was very sceptical but can confirm this is true-and a nice touch too. We arrived early but within the stated opening times and the place was shut but in fairness to staff they opened up and put us at ease. Food/wine was expensive in relation to other Indian restaurants.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank thenobster58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Excellent food but slow service”
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

The layout of the restaurant is a little bit dated with carpet flooring and tables quite close to each other, made the atmosphere a little awkward. Had to wait quite a while to order and then for the food to arrive as there were only two members of staff but when the food arrived it was fantastic. Really excellent and worth the wait!

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, average service.”
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

Can't say a bad word about the food really was excellent. But the head waiter was in jeans t shirt and trainers taking orders and there was only one other member of staff so service was very slow and it wasn't easy getting their attention for more drinks. But we did enjoy the food, you just have to be prepared for a little wait.

Helpful?
Thank Sambo240192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jamal's Fine Indian Restaurant also viewed

Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire
Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire
 
Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire
Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Jamal's Fine Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing