We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Good Service, Good Atmosphere”
Review of Jolsha

Jolsha
Ranked #34 of 298 Restaurants in Middlesbrough
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Balti, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Guisborough
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Service, Good Atmosphere”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Had my first taste of Jolsha with a group of mates the other night and have no complaints at all, however ive got nothing to shout about either. It was all good in an average kind of way, you got what you expected and nothing stood out.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shakleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    31
    9
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Lovely Food”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Simply the best Lamb Tikka I have ever had, along great place and service with a smile.
Will return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LadyWard1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Anniversary meal”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Again, a lovely night out, we had Goan Murgh (always lovely, just be careful of the chillies!) we had Chicken Tikka Bhuna and Muttar Panir (cheese and peas), Keema Pilau and Peshwari Nann. Absolutely beautiful! We always try at least one new dish when we go and the Tikka Bhuna and Muttar Panir were SUPERB !! Never had a bad meal yet.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wolliedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“BLAND”
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We went here for my wife's birthday, the place has no atmosphere, the waiter looked like he didn't want us there. We ordered a chicken korma and a chicken dopiaza, if you had been blindfolded you couldn't tell which was which, the dishes all taste the same. No authenticity about this place and the food is so bland then to top it off we are both bad the next day, no coincidence I feel. Not a patch on the norton restaraunt , stay well clear.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank s26lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Tasty food, shame about the service!”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Went to Jolsha as two couples on a Sunday evening for the banquet, which certainly is not a 4 course meal. Its more like a starter and a main course including your rice! However it is still good value for money. The place was suprisingly busy for a Sunday night and it seemed like staff were ran off their feet, finding it hard to cope with the volume of customers. We were seated quickly and served poppadoms but we were then left for over 45 minutes without staff coming to take our food order, so we had to actually ask a member of staff if we could order. After waiting over an hour for the food I must say it was very nice, cooked fresh and tasty. The service could have been a lot better, we werent asked if we wanted more drinks and no-one apologised for the lengthy wait which means they didn't even acknowledge this. It is a shame because I would have certainly returned here if the experience was much more pleasant, the food is lovely but the service needs to be improved as does the serving time of food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ZD92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jolsha also viewed

Stockton-on-Tees, England
Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire
 
Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire
Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Jolsha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing