We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spot on ”
Review of The Massala

The Massala
Ranked #16 of 355 Restaurants in Middlesbrough
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $14
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Chicken tikka pathia, chicken tikka dansak, chicken karahi and special Balti sampled over 2 visits, along with pilau and egg pilau. Delicious food every morsel. Attentive helpful staff. Highly recommend

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Sethrohlil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 233 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2019 via mobile

I visited The Masala whilst on business in the area. Being new to the area,I referred to Trip Advisor reviews for the top restaurants in the area,and this one seemed to have the most positive comments. So I decided to try it out for myself. It was nicely decorated with red and black chairs,which was unusual,but worked well. I ordered the food and asking for it to be madras hot. When the food did come it was perfectly spiced. The onion bhajee was fresh and a good size. I ordered my curries as a side dish and not a main(good job I did!), as the portions were really generous. To finish off the meal,I had a lovely desert,which was presented in a small bowl. All in all good surroundings, good food,and value for money. Will definitely come next time.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Himanshu R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2019 via mobile

We’ve had a few takeaway curry’s from the Middlesbrough area however this has been by far the best! We popped over to the restaurant to pick up a menu and were very impressed with the selection of food. They have everything covered. The staff were also very friendly and helpful. The Chicken Bhuna and King Prawn Pathia were amazingly tasty. Will have no hesitation to use The Massala again.

Date of visit: May 2019
1  Thank masbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2019 via mobile

The restaurant in general is one of the best in town , great food and atmosphere . Freshly prepared and tastes real good for reasonable price ❤️. Would highly recommend this place for inidan food.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Shash425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2019 via mobile

Couldn’t fault this place, absolutely brilliant traditional Indian food, staff where class, will be making it my new regular...

Date of visit: March 2019
2  Thank marvkipo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Massala also viewed

Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire
Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire
 
Stockton-on-Tees, England
Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire
 
Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire
Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Massala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing