We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely family night out”
Review of Al Forno

Al Forno
Ranked #4 of 306 Restaurants in Middlesbrough
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $31
Cuisines: Italian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Al Forno Italian Restaurant is a fantastic place to meet and eat. Choose from a range of superb, fresh Italian food, beautiful wine and excellent service. Pop in for a cappuccino or a glass of wine, tuck into a fresh summer salad, grab a sandwich or sit down to a hearty home cooked Italian dinner cooked by one of our award winning chefs. We're open from 10am-10pm Monday to Thursday, Friday & Saturday 10am-10:30pm and Sunday from 11am-8pm (last orders). As well as our a la carte menu, a happy hour menu is available so please take a look at our special offers. Our private dining area offers a great place to relax and unwind or as an alternative, informal setting for a business or lunch meeting. We have FREE wireless internet available throughout the restaurant and can also provide digital projection, DVD & TV facilities on request.
middlesbrough
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“lovely family night out”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

went to al forno saturday night for our 2 kids birthdays , hadnt been for a bit cause the service wasent brilliant ,also prefering capaldis wich is now closed ,so we gave it a go, glad we did ,we had a lovely time . Nice welcome good busy atmosphere .we had a good laugh with the waiter who took our order [no squid] its a change these days to have a laugh with some staff .The food was excellent ,seafood spot on ,chiken dishes yummy .With starters mains ,2 bottles of wine beers, spirits ,coffees bill came to £124 wich was excellent for 6 adults , we will defo be returning ,thanks al forno .

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank juliebeadle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    480
    214
    65
    31
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
north east england
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great food and service but a bit cramped”
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Had a nice meal here , was full in restaurant sat night , a bit to cramped and overlooked for me , was a bit pricey for parmo and for certain meals but cooked fine , service fine but a bit too quick as soon as sat down within a minute was asked if I wanted any drinks ? Probably go back later

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank realdeal_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Perfect!”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We were warmly greeted and taken to our table. A very friendly welcome. The dining set up is well thought out. An extensive food and drink menu afforded me a problem - I liked everything on offer! We settled for a Bruschetta Pomodoro - absolutely delicious - to start with, accompanied by home made bread and a superb wine to go with it. For mains, we went for the Sirlion Steak with mushroom and diane sauce - again absolutely delicious. Lunch was rounded off with a devine sticky toffee pudding which was perfect. Despite the restaurant being very busy, the service was efficient, friendly and very helpful. This was an excellent dining experience and made our visit to Middlesbrough one to remember. We shall return! Many thanks to all the staff who made our visit very special.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarahsiobhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“quality food at right price”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

we ate there on a sunday afternoon. The restaurante was quiet but filled up as we were leaving.we both chose from the happy hour menu,The wife having soup for starters and myself having pate stuffed mushrooms,both were generous portions and very nice, for the mains I choose teessides favorit.e parmo and the wife had a butterfly chicken with garlic and rosemerry.the wife really enjoyed hers . And my parmo was one of the best chicken parmos I have tasted . compliments to the chef and staff I will return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank borochesney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Al Forno Restaurant”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Good food and good service. It was last year but I can't imagine it would have changed too much since my last visit.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Forno also viewed

Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire
Darlington, County Durham
 
Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire
Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Al Forno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing