We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seems like a nice idea”
Review of The Prince Arthur

The Prince Arthur
Ranked #11,620 of 28,642 Restaurants in London
Price range: $4 - $16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Shoreditch
Description: Prober boozer in the backstreets of Shoreditch, a true hidden gem away from the tourist masses. Open every day of the week, especially popular as an after work pub. Private function room upstairs available for party booking for up to 30 people.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Sat at bar. Told to move. So don't put stools at the bar if you don't want people sitting on them. Beer ok, pork scratchings stale. Well TripAdvisor wastes peoples' time.No need to write >100 chrs for this.Pointless exercise. No more to say. Sat at bar. Told to move. So don't put stools at the bar if you don't want people sitting on them. Beer ok, pork scratchings stale. No more to say.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (12)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 12 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2019

Starved for authentic London fare, we enjoyed the wonderful vibe and were offered samples of beer on tap. The food was good but it was the same menu at our last stop. Chain? I guess one corporation owns several pubs in the area.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DrMike60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EgilJ_13, Owner at The Prince Arthur, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2019

Thanks for reviewing guys but must be the wrong pub, because we do not serve food

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2019 via mobile

The type of pub where you go to and the bar staff are the people you think you have known all your life, thanks Abbie and grace

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank garethferg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2018

We are 5 guys who have a regular meet up in the City, but for the 2nd time we decided to have a drink here due to pubs directly in the City being chokka because the 'xmas drinkers' are out in force, although the pub was very busy , we were served immediately by friendly staff, pub has great atmosphere and will be drinking more regularly here in new Year, we didn't eat, so cannot comment on food, but great , friendly little pub with great atmosphere, thank you

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank ROLYPOLYESSEX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2018 via mobile

We went to this pub on our last visit to London, with each drink we were given nibbles, nuts, cheese biscuits, and were offered a picked egg. Not this time though, nice pub though, not spoilt by chainification, keeps its traditional charm. We were going to pop in last night on our last day, but was closed...

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank standrews47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EgilJ_13, Owner at The Prince Arthur, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2018

Hi and thanks for your kind words! We have just taken over the pub and are completely independent no chains, and it is important for us that the pub remains a proper boozer. We don’t offer free nibbles though, only nuts and crisps, and we were closed the day you described to install 3 fase electrics in our kitchen because our aim is to start serving food in the nearest future. Exiting times ahead:) Best, Egil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Prince Arthur also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to The Prince Arthur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing