We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bbar

Bbar
Ranked #229 of 22,373 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $77
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Westminster
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Booked a table for 6pm as a pre-theatre meal and we were looked after really well by staff who clearly enjoy working there. Plenty of interaction and friendly service, and the food was pretty good too although the pre-theatre menu by nature does limit you for choice and you may feel that because of this they have erred on the side of bland and over-done. In and out in an hour without feeling rushed at all and suited us just fine.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    402
    246
    48
    14
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
160 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Very nice, but not everyone wants "nice".”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

bBar is a lovely restaurant with a strange sort of African vibe going on, giraffe style upholstery etc and safari prints on the wall which is not overly reflected in the menu. We didn't really see any connection apart from the need for a theme, that said, the staff were very pleasant and attentive, the bistro style food was very nice, and the overall ambience of the place was inviting and pleasant. Not great but nice nevertheless.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheWTandNBTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed at the Rubens next door and decided to try Bbar. We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food! The steaks were delicious, larger, just as good and more reasonably priced than some of the "fancier" restaurants that we tried. The spring rolls and the Caesar salad were great too. The service was friendly and attentive and the atmosphere was very nice and comfortable. Lunch was great too- my son had a stuffed chicken sandwich which he said was the best sandwich he has eaten in London (he's been living here for three months).

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Prince92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good food, awful service!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Popped in hoping for a table before the theatre. Was empty but the waiter made us feel very awkward for not booking - we got shown to a table.
The waitress who served us was uninterested and just appeared beside the table with the note pad- not saying a word.
Noticed other tables being told about the specials- we weren't and others getting pre theatre offers - we didn't !
When main plates were taken the waitress put the dessert menu in front and then returned with her notebook just standing. Assuming we wanted dessert. We didn't.
Asked for the bill. Was angry with 12.5% service charge- wouldn't mind paying if I had service!
The food however was very tasty.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank linzi1985uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best Burgers in London”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Location is great - right near Victoria Station. The manager is welcoming and the food is excllent with generous portions.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bbar also viewed

 

Been to Bbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing