We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Starters Amazing. Main meal was ok. Humble dining environment”
Review of Thai Corner Cafe

Thai Corner Cafe
Ranked #7,490 of 22,853 Restaurants in London
Price range: $0 - $50
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Starters Amazing. Main meal was ok. Humble dining environment”
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

We came here after lots of hype from a good friend. We enjoyed the mixed grill so much that we decided on another.It was pretty small though for £9.95

The main (pad thai) was ok and there was not enough chicken in it. Friends that dined with us said the pad thai was better elsewhere but was ok.

Staff are welcoming and you dont feel rushed. Bring your own drinks save you a little cash.

I will come again but if the mains are again pureley an average dish I wont be returning
Good experience and not quite made my mind up yet...

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shazzy_shah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    22
    8
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
299 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Taste sensation - wow!”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

This is a tired and tatty little cafe but that's not why I want to recommend this place..... It's the outstanding food. What would you rather have? Tip top shop front or heavenly taste? You get the latter, so ignore the dated restaurant and tuck in. The prawn with glass noodles on the speciality list is outstanding and portion sizes are very generous. The crispy duck is a generous size too and you get lots of pancakes. The staff are attentive and service is fast. Great value....What a fabulous place - just go!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mi-MiMurrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“An explosion of tastes!”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

A no frills, no fuss, crowded little place.

Food was great. I just wish we hadn't ordered quite so many different dishes but it all tasted wonderful - with the exception of an eggplant and tofu salad for a veggie friend which had a very odd taste and he left it. Every dish we ordered was very individual.

They may not have had a alcohol licence in the past looking at earlier reviews but they certainly do now.

Four of us had a really good meal with two drinks each and it came to £77 - really good value.

Don't expect to be wowed by the interior of the place - put the emphasis on the food and you won't be disappointed.

Will definitely return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Exmoorgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A Real Find!!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This place doesn’t look like a lot from the outside, but the Thai food is FANTASTIC! Prices were reasonable, service was great, and there seemed to be a lot of neighborhood locals eating there as though this was a regular place for them.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brenda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Too stretched”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Food was good enough. Not the best Thai I have eaten but good value for what you get. Unfortunately, the staff are finding it hard to keep up with the reputation that this restaurant has earned. Our starters arrived promptly but I expect that they have them stacked up and ready to go, as they were very popular dishes. We then had to wait almost an hour for our main course before the waiter eventually looked a bit sheepish and scuttled into the kitchen. The main then arrived within 5-10 minutes, so we suspect that our order had been forgotten. During the waiting period, the telephone rang almost constantly with takeaway orders and the kitchen produced bag after bag of takeaway food. The people who came in to collect their orders were quite unpleasant with no regard for the privacy or comfort of people eating their meals. At one point, a couple of guys were standing up either side of our table, talking loudly to each other over our heads. We then had to wait ages for our bill. I will probably order a takeaway from here in the future but I would never eat here again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank London420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Corner Cafe also viewed

London, England
London, England
 
London, England
 

Been to Thai Corner Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing