We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific birthday lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Al Forno

Al Forno
Reserve with OpenTable
Al Forno is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4,174 of 22,202 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Al Forno Putney is a heaven of authentic Sicilian & Italian cuisine and carefully selected wines. You'll find traditional Sicilian dishes such as Penne alla Norma, Caponata, Scaloppine agli agrumi, Panelle & Arancinette. The restaurant is owned and run by Peppe & his team, who have created a warm and friendly atmosphere. At the end of your meal you can enjoy a complimentary glass of Limoncello. We look forward to welcoming you!
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrific birthday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is a brilliant restaurant, a bit out of the centre of Putney (otherwise with this quality it would be groaning with customers) but it's not difficult to reach. The style is homely rather than forbiddingly posh, which suits us fine.
Starters were insalata tricolore and bruschetta - excellent.
We had two "medium" pizzas - these would each feed 2 (just as well at around £18 each), they are rectangular and come on wooden platters at least 18" / 45 cm long, our sons had skipped breakfast to ensure they were hungry but even so only one (eventually) finished his! Both were thin pan and delicious; the chilli pizza had plenty of bite and the prosciutto variety was generously covered. We also had chicken in creamy mushroom sauce and a very large and delicious sea bass. The house Pinot Grigio was unexpectedly good and refreshing.
Lovely friendly service, so no this was not cheap (we could have ordered less and still been full) but a great lunch to celebrate a birthday.
Grazie!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VecchioJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    36
    14
    4
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful evening and venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Went to Al forno's for my wife's birthday last night and what a night.quite simply best steaks in London the al pepe dish is to die for.Pepe the owner is an absolute legend he made our night with his humour and fun(although I am not sure if the red wig suited him!).

Of course being a birthday night my wife Sharon got the traditional bell treatment,to everyone including all staff thanks for a great great time.

Ps to the person who mentioned it being expensive our meal for 4 was just over £100,I know from experience a similar meal in gaucho's would be over £200!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Woody523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Excellent cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Al Forno in Putney is highly recommended but not if you're looking for a cheap night out. However, as I have noted in other reviews, if you want good quality you have to be ready to pay a premium for it, and you will get very good quality at Al Forno at a price which is not over the top for what you get. The staff is very attentive and the menu extensive. As you would expect from an Italian restaurant, it includes many pizza and pasta dishes but also many meat and fish dishes, as well as a large selection of deserts. Four of us enjoyed a large three course meal and it has to be said we were not backward in selecting the most expensive meat and fish dishes as well as plenty of plain and garlic bread, olives, vegetables, beers, wines and coffees. Including a tip it all came to £47 per head which you could obviously reduce if you chose a cheaper meal and drank less. At the end we were offered a complimentary lemon liqueur. Do go and enjoy a quality meal at Al Forno.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent local Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Easily the best lower-cost Italian in Putney. Have been here at least 10 times and worked my way through most of the menu and it is always consistently good. Pizzas particularly are excellent.

Service is always very friendly and atmosphere is great with live music on some nights. Great for couples and larger groups alike.

Very good value for money, with 2 courses and wine for two people costing around £50 on average.

They also have a branch in Wimbledon but by far prefer the Putney restaturant and staff although the food at Wimbledon is just as good.

Will continue to go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, England
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Wonderful relaxed evening with excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Four of us visited on a busy Friday evening, we had booked in advance on the advice of the person who recommended this restaurant.
Great atmosphere from the moment we walked in, the staff were attentive without being overbearing and the place had a good feeling and my partner loved the washing on the line!
There was a good choice on the menu, the food was very well prepared and cooked and presented, the wine was good and reasonably priced.
This was a first visit for us but with my son at Uni nearby will certainly not be the last.
A good idea to book in the evenings.
One thing we really picked up on were the number of families eating here and the usual way the Italians welcome and look after families.
A great night and a restaurant I would heartily recommend.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank scribimus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Forno also viewed

 
Kingston upon Thames, Greater London
Kingston upon Thames, Greater London
 

Been to Al Forno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing