We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Experience”

PJ's Bar & Grill - Covent Garden
Price range: $1 - $100
Cuisines: American, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Covent Garden
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

After spending the day in London walking around we decided to navigate our way to our pre booked table at PJ's, only to get slightly lost. We phoned PJ's up to say we would be half an hour late and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. Once we arrived we where greeted and taken to our lovely table for two, slightly tucked away, which was very nice. The waiter then whilst sitting us suggested drinks and brought the menu's. My wife and i had a bread basket with oil and butter whilst choosing our mains. My wife had the Lamb which was beautifully cooked and i chose the steak with peppercorn sauce which was perfectly cooked with plenty of sauce. My wife then had the cheese board, which at first looked a bit small but turned out to be more than she could manage. I chose the bread & butter pudding with custard (& ice-cream). A great value dinning experience. A big thanks to all the staff who where very attentive and professional, with a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere it was a great way to finish off our London trip. (A little disappointed with the 12.5% service charge on the bill)

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndyBeef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    107
    38
    22
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“yummy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

A tardis-like restaurant with a warm and friendly atmosphere and serving great food.

Even though our visit was late lunchtime/early afternoon so the restaurant wasn't particularly full, there was still a cosy and welcoming ambience. The food was lovely (I can recommend the Baileys & Oreo cheesecake as it was delicious) and the service was excellent - the waitress didn't 'hover' but was on hand for any needs and requests.

Felt the prices were a little high but as we'd made our booking through 'Top Table' and got a 50% discount deal, it was a positive bargain!

Would definately recommend.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dippyduck2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“An absolute shambles of a restaurant. Terrible at best!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Booked a meal and show package, was told by PJ's to come at 6 pm which would leave "plenty" of time to enjoy the meal and then go to the theatre on time. If you are reading this review DO NOT GO to this place!! It was the worst eating experience of my life! Where do I begin:

1) we waited 1 hour 25mins for a mains from a set menu which never arrived! We had to leave without eating as we would of missed our show.

2) the service was awful, no remorse whatsoever! There was at least 5 tables going through the same experience!

3) no refund offered

4) no member of staff seemed to have a single clue as to what was going on, you could of got a dozen chimpanzees in to run the place better!

If I could swear on this website I would use every swear word under the sun to describe how bad this place really is!

I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone! A grade A shambles!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kscott158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captainscotty, General Manager at PJ's Bar & Grill - Covent Garden, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
End of an Era - PJ's Covent Garden, 1982 - 2014

After 32 great years, we are sorry to announce that PJ's, Covent Garden, will be closing its doors later this month.

We have had an amazing time here; so much history has happened but as an independently owned restaurant, we cannot keep up with Covent Garden's rents and rates or the influx of so many chain restaurants. We have never viewed this as a business, more a 'home away from home', and we have weathered several recessions and kept many people fed...and employed!

There are so, so many incredible people to thank from all walks of life; from royalty and West End stars to our cleaners and kitchen porters.

We've had a grand time, thanks a million to all our customers....we'll miss you!
And to all our loyal, fabulous staff...we salute you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Pagnell
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good staff but awful meal!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Good staff but awful meal! Duck so rare couldn't cut it, replaced and duck fine but potato so burnt at bottom it was black!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dawn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Expected more”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

We came as a group of 6 one evening between christmas and new year, the menu sounds lovely but unfortunately the quality doesn't match up. Our starters and deserts were actually very good but the mains were poor quality, items were missing from the description, the meat was dry, no condiments were available at all (mustard, apple sauce, mint sauce etc.) vegetables were undercooked too. No one came to ask how the meal was either during any course which is poor service & they weren't busy. It was okay but I wouldn't go back.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emmy098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PJ's Bar & Grill - Covent Garden also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing