We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best of Brick Lane”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Saffron

Saffron
Ranked #16,228 of 22,373 Restaurants in London
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Spitalfields
England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The best of Brick Lane”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

I go to this restaurant three or four times a year, I was first drawn to it because it won a vegetarian restaurant award and I now go back regularly. The staff are always welcoming, the prices very reasonable and the food always of an excellent standard. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SimoneEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    9
    11
    7
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bit of a disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

Nice enough place and said it took Taste Card on website but they would not hounour the discount which made it was a bit pricey - offered a lunch deal but then slapped a service charge on top which frankly did not reflect the service or quality of food. Expect to be a bit ripped off as a tourist but this literally left a bitter taste in the mouth and metaphorically in the pocket

Helpful?
1 Thank nikandteresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Anyway You Want It”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Chose this restaurant randomly while walking down Brick Lane. Was not disappointed. To the contrary, the owner was extremely accomodating, and offered to vary any dish according to our personal tastes. We asked for it hot and spicy, and that's exactly what we got. Actually our best meal during our visit to London.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SharazJek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“No go”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012 via mobile

Better places around...waste of time and upset stomach.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jose0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

After walking the full length of Brick Lane and been accosted by countless restaurant waiters touting for business we settled on the Saffron. No touting staff, no flash interior just a couple of empty tables and a fabulous aroma.just be aware that the restaurant
We had poppadoms to start followed by a Chicken Makhani and a non-vegetarian Thali. Just great food, well cooked and we left left a morsel. What greater compliment could be paid to the chef. Definitely worth a visit.
Just be aware that they charge an additional 12.5% for service.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Toffeeman54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saffron also viewed

London, England
London, England
 

Been to Saffron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing