We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite Indian restaurant in London by far”
Review of Simply Indian

Simply Indian
Ranked #1,468 of 23,024 Restaurants in London
Price range: $15 - $26
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Southwark
Description: An intimate South Indian restaurant very close to Borough market in #London, where you can BYO wine and beer and not pay any corkage fee. Freshly sourced produce delivered daily. A delivery service s also available.Recently rated as top 3 Indian Restaurant in Lambeth by ThreeBestRated UK. Very busy little retaurant so always advisable to book in advance. Party menu also available for celebration bookings.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“My favourite Indian restaurant in London by far”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

If you like your greasy curries with your 1000 calorie naans then you might as well stick to Brick Lane. This place has the most amazing, light and tasty Indian food I have ever had. You won't find you Chicken Tikka Masslas on the menu or other standard curries, instead you get unique, wonderfully flavoured dishes I've not found anywhere else in London.
What other Indian restaurant could you go to to have a 3 course dinner for around £15 and leave completely satisfied and not like you need to be rolled home like a barrel?
Really is a top class place. Lemon rice and pashwari naan are great sundries!

I think this place is second to Naan!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pavster3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    129
    30
    19
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant close to H10 hotel”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Small restaurant so book a table, went on a Tuesday night and nearly full at 8.00pm. A great curry at a very reasonable price, great to be able to bring your own beer and wine.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank azimuthBristolUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice food, shame about the degrading treatment”
Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

This is a bit of a gem, especially of you have no sense of shame. It's unlike any other Indian restaurant in that the dishes are all served with a twist (e.g. spinach with lemongrass). It works very well, although I wouldn't bother with the starters. Everything is pretty cheap, especially for London, and it's BYOB so you save a lot of money that way.

The real problem was with the service. It's relatively small, so the staff didn't bother hiding their desperation to take your cash and dispose of you. Once we coughed up at the end of the meal, the staff barely waited two minutes before forcing us to get up and ushering us out of the door. The restaurant was about half full. For that reason I will never spend my cash in there ever again... which is a shame because the food is good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NilesFromFrasier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Recommended for the food”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I met with a bunch of friends here. It's a bring your own alcohol place and we'd stopped on the way to pick up some bottles that we shared among us. The place is small, so ring ahead to book a slot. If they're running late there's a nice pub just up from them. The menu is extensive and they're flexible if you want something different. It's not a standard menu as you'd see elsewhere in town. All the dishes we had were very good. The breads were delicious! The service was enthusiastic - motivated mainly to keep room on your table (this is a small place and you need to be happy to squeeze in).

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ukwrightphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Indian Food”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Very good Indian Food at a good price. The menu is not your normal run of the mill Tandoori menu. It is Bangladeshi inspired and has a lot of less usual dishes.

Try asking for a Lamb Madras (not on the menu) - it is super hot.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank simon d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simply Indian also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Simply Indian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing