We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing”
Review of La Brasserie

La Brasserie
Ranked #3,127 of 22,692 Restaurants in London
Price range: $0 - $80
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: South Kensington
Transit: Tube: South Kensington Busses From Kings road, Town Hall Stop
Description: Bringing timeless Parisian chic across the Channel, La Brasserie has stood as a landmark London eatery since 1972. A refreshingly simple menu showcases time-honoured European recipes, alongside a high-end selection of boutique wines, and cocktails served from the fabulous bar. Sumptuous chef's specialities include plat du jours and seasonal menus, or classic French onion soup and beef bourguignon.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Very disappointing and because of this, very over priced.

The food was of incredible poor quality, the waitress had no time for us and threw things down in front of us and because of this its overpriced.

The atmosphere was really nice and the interior design is really impressive because the waitress for the most part ruined the atmosphere.

I ordered sausages and I could have found better at Tesco

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaveyNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    129
    60
    33
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Disappointing yet fancy”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

The pudding was probably the best part of the experience. Came to South Ken to experience the upper lifestyle and expected as much from the food. Unfortunately it wasn't much better than my local Mr Chicken. Maybe we came too late in the evening, but clearly we were being judged by the waitress. However will come again to try a different night.

Helpful?
Thank thinchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Still the same!”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Went to the restaurant last Friday when in London. I used to go quite a lot a few years ago and enjoyed the food and ambiance. The restaurant has changed with a round bar at the entrance instead of to the side and even though I went for lunch at 2 pm it was still buzzing. The waiter who served us was quite grumpy to start off with but his manner improved as time went on even taking our wine and coffee outside for us so we could people watch after lunch. The only down side is the service charge which is a bit over the top but that's London for you.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food, ambiance and service”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I love this restaurant. It's got a great neighbourhood, cosy feel to it whilst also providing delicious French food and great service. It's like being in Paris but it happens to be South Kensington. They have a happy hour early evening and I thoroughly enjoyed the pre-dinner Mojito which was as good as any provided by a top London hotel. I had a delicious pigeon breast starter and this was followed by melt in the mouth entrecote steak with bearnaise and frites. The staff are lovely and very welcoming and I am going back there soon with friends and family for a leisurely Sunday lunch!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Poor service, nice food apart from finding a hair”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Food was good and appropriately priced for south ken. Service was poor - asked for earl grey, was bought green tea and when I queried it, told "You asked for Green Tea". Had to chase for various items of food.

Found a hair in the food - wasn't a particularly big deal but the response was unapologetic.

Overall - better places nearby.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Brasserie also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to La Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing