We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite Brick Lane restaurant”
Review of Cafe Naz - CLOSED

Cafe Naz
Price range: $20 - $33
Cuisines: Indian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Spitalfields
Description: The flagship restaurant of the award-winning Cafe Naz group, the Brick Lane branch is one of the oldest and most loved restaurants in the area. Café Naz was first built where the old Mayfair Cinema of the 1930’s once stood, which became the Naz Cinema in the 60s, showing Asian films and visited by Dilip Kumar, the Clark Gable of the Indian film industry and his heroine Vaijanti Mala. The owner of Cafe Naz bought the Naz cinema in the 70's and closed it down in the early 80s with the advent of video shops but retained the word Naz when he opened his famous chain in the early 90's.Café Naz was thrust into the news in 1999 when as car bomb planted by a neo-Nazi exploded outside. Fortunately nobody was hurt.Described as "Brick Lane’s flagship restaurant" by Charles Campion from the Evening Standard, Café Naz, renowned nationwide for its elegant surroundings and warm atmosphere, not to mention delicious food, exceptional service from the staff and value for money, is the ever-popular choice for the curry tourists who visit Banglatown.Resolutely modern from its shiny, bold & black façade & glass frontage and chilli-patterned glass'n'chrome bar, Cafe Naz is sufficiently confident & unique in everything from exterior, interior, food & service.With its Indian brasserie-style interior, blending a classic ambience with a contemporary environment, the dining room at Cafe Naz features a glass staircase, loud splashes of yellow, purple and lime green in the decor, and plenty of potted palms.The cheerful and relaxing mood throughout the restaurant is ideal for family nights out, late-night curries and fun parties made even better by the large servings available. Café Naz is perfect for every occasion.Cafe Naz offers an unforgettable fine dining experience at what may be the best Indian restaurant in town.This flagship restaurant is a beacon for pan Asian culinary modernity and amid the variable phantasmagoria that is Spitalfields brick lane.This huge place on Brick Lane represents everything good about the area.This is a great place to go for a taste of the Indian East End.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My favourite Brick Lane restaurant”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I have been a regular diner at Café Naz for over 10 years which probably speaks for itself. I eat there with friends & family and have even taken my clients (mostly Scandinavian) when they are in London and they always enjoy the experience. Like most curry lovers one of the main criteria for me parting with my money is consistency of flavours and quality of the ingredients and I am happy to report that this restaurant fulfills my expectations on both counts. When you visit make sure you sample the Kebab-e-Naz mixed starter a great beginning to your meal, especially with an ice cold bottle of Bangla beer. Then I like to tuck into garlic chilli king prawn, chicken madras, karahi lamb, begun masala, sag aloo, rice and naan breads which is why i like to go with a few other people so I can max-out on the different flavours. Do you get the feeling I like it here? Enjoy!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Les J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cafe N, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Naz, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Cafe Naz. We are delighted that you love both our food and service. Your feedback gives us the strength to maintain consistency and improve our quality of food and service. We hope to see you in Cafe Naz soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    11
    9
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Health hazard!”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I had thought that Cafe Naz was one of the better Indian restaurants on Brick Lane - that is until the waitress brought up a tray of chutneys and poppadums complete with…a live cockroach! Naturally my friend and I got up to leave immediately and didn't even get an apology, though she did look fairly embarrassed as she held the door open for us.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Borizxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cafe N, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Naz, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Happy New Year! Thank you for taking the time to open an account with Tripadvisor this new year. We find it surprisining that you opened an account solely to review Cafe Naz after one year of visiting us.

Please note that we have NO COCKROACH problem in the premises and we know that we are one of the best restaurant in the street. We do not mind addressing & accepting a genuine problem but can not appreciate your false accusations just to taint our reputation.

Your are most welcome to visit us with your friend and check every corner of the restaurant to find a cockroach which you claim to have found one year back.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Two thumbs up :) :D”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Went there thrice and plan on going there every time we go to London :) enjoyed scrumptious dinner :) the biriyani and kebabs were out-of-the world. the place was also neat and well organised despite being full. the staff were attentive and helpful as well. all in all a great place to dine :)

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NadiaTHaque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cafe N, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Naz, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for very for the review. We are delighted that you enjoyed our food and service. It is always a pleasure to see happy customers which makes all the hard work worthwhile. We hope you will visit Cafe Naz again when you are in London next time. Till then take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Authentic and refreshingly different from the other dubious Brick Lane establishments”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Excellent food. Being a South Asian I can vouch this is one of the most authentic Indian restaurants out there. Try the king prawn kebabs - to die for. Also please try the chicken with ginger - just sublime. Also food was fresh and not the usual leftover fare. All in all my favorite place for a curry!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarique H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cafe N, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Naz, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for the review. We really appreciate your kind words. Your feedback gives us the strength to maintain consistency and improve our quality of food and service. We look forwad to welcoming you at Cafe Naz again soon. Till then take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food in a nice atmosphere!”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I had a great time trying new dishes. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We enjoyed the atmosphere; the lighting was nice.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amiller6789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cafe N, Manager at Cafe Naz, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for the review. We hope that you will visit Cafe Naz soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Naz also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing