We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic and refreshingly different from the other dubious Brick Lane establishments”
Review of Cafe Naz - CLOSED

Cafe Naz
Price range: $20 - $34
Cuisines: Indian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Spitalfields
Description: The flagship restaurant of the award-winning Cafe Naz group, the Brick Lane branch is one of the oldest and most loved restaurants in the area. Café Naz was first built where the old Mayfair Cinema of the 1930’s once stood, which became the Naz Cinema in the 60s, showing Asian films and visited by Dilip Kumar, the Clark Gable of the Indian film industry and his heroine Vaijanti Mala. The owner of Cafe Naz bought the Naz cinema in the 70's and closed it down in the early 80s with the advent of video shops but retained the word Naz when he opened his famous chain in the early 90's.Café Naz was thrust into the news in 1999 when as car bomb planted by a neo-Nazi exploded outside. Fortunately nobody was hurt.Described as "Brick Lane’s flagship restaurant" by Charles Campion from the Evening Standard, Café Naz, renowned nationwide for its elegant surroundings and warm atmosphere, not to mention delicious food, exceptional service from the staff and value for money, is the ever-popular choice for the curry tourists who visit Banglatown.Resolutely modern from its shiny, bold & black façade & glass frontage and chilli-patterned glass'n'chrome bar, Cafe Naz is sufficiently confident & unique in everything from exterior, interior, food & service.With its Indian brasserie-style interior, blending a classic ambience with a contemporary environment, the dining room at Cafe Naz features a glass staircase, loud splashes of yellow, purple and lime green in the decor, and plenty of potted palms.The cheerful and relaxing mood throughout the restaurant is ideal for family nights out, late-night curries and fun parties made even better by the large servings available. Café Naz is perfect for every occasion.Cafe Naz offers an unforgettable fine dining experience at what may be the best Indian restaurant in town.This flagship restaurant is a beacon for pan Asian culinary modernity and amid the variable phantasmagoria that is Spitalfields brick lane.This huge place on Brick Lane represents everything good about the area.This is a great place to go for a taste of the Indian East End.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Excellent food. Being a South Asian I can vouch this is one of the most authentic Indian restaurants out there. Try the king prawn kebabs - to die for. Also please try the chicken with ginger - just sublime. Also food was fresh and not the usual leftover fare. All in all my favorite place for a curry!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Tarique H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cafe N, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Naz, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thank you for the review. We really appreciate your kind words. Your feedback gives us the strength to maintain consistency and improve our quality of food and service. We look forwad to welcoming you at Cafe Naz again soon. Till then take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (53)
There are newer reviews for Cafe Naz
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 53 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

I had a great time trying new dishes. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We enjoyed the atmosphere; the lighting was nice.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Amiller6789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cafe N, Manager at Cafe Naz, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thank you for the review. We hope that you will visit Cafe Naz soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Enjoyed a decent lunch buffet here. The place was clean, the staff were attentive but not intrusive and the food was very good. I felt the deal was good value as well. I loved the area as it is full of activity. I would give this an A plus.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FriendlyTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cafe N, Owner at Cafe Naz, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Thank you very much for the review. We look forward to welcoming you at Cafe Naz soon again. Your feedback will give us the strength to move forward. We continuously strive to offer good food & maintain consistency. Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

My husband and I visited Cafe Naz on a Thursday evening for a meal and though they have a sign outside implying that they don't hassle customers like other establishments, they have a headline grabbing note on the menu which states they offer free welcome drink, crackers, mineral/sparkling water and chef's snacks because they believe in good customer service. Don’t be fooled, the drink is Tesco's fruit juice (saw gandma walked in with it!) about 30ml in size, the water is from "Thames Water" according to the waiter and if your face fits, you'll be served a snack from the chef!
I asked for a whole fish as seen on the photograph (item 366 on the menu) and asked if it will look the same when cooked. I was told yes but when it arrived it was smaller than my palm and covered with onions, as if to hide the poor state of the fish. I refused to eat it and informed the lady manageress but I was still charged the full £12.25 without an offer to exchange nor replace it. When I asked the manageress why the photo and actual fish don’t look the same, her response was “its only for illustration purposes”, something which is not noted on the menu! Is this misrepresentation or what? I’ll ask Trading Standards. She made no attempt to rectify the issue and asked the waiter not to take the plate away which I had pushed to the edge of the table!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Mletkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We have been eating in Cafe' Naz in Brick Lane for many years now and really that says it all (and now we are really fat!!).
-Delicious food
-Water on tables-greatly appreciated. Looks nice too as in branded Cafe' Naz bottles.
-Excellent friendly service
-Management and staff always make you feel welcome and special
-Sunday Buffet-lots of choice, something for everyone, inc. plain popadoms, chutneys,salads. Brilliant value for money.
-Magic evening once a month-brilliant entertainment at no extra cost.
-Also have been some really good Elvis nights
-House wine is really suited to every palete (nicely branded with Cafe' Naz)
Cafe' Naz is definitely worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gunderek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cafe N, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Naz, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Cafe Naz. We appreciate your comments. We are delighted that you like what we do and how we do it. We hope to see you in Cafe Naz soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Naz also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing