We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only problem with this superb wine bar is the staff”
Review of Gordon's Wine Bar

Gordon's Wine Bar
Ranked #160 of 22,509 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $59
Cuisines: Bar, British, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Neighborhood: Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The only problem with this superb wine bar is the staff”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This is a fantastic small wine bar with atmospheric cave like alcoves all candle lit. The bar area itself is like stepping back in time to a period of yellow walls and smoke stained photos with dusty used wine bottles for décor. It sounds a little dirty but it is more about the unchanged atmosphere so don't let this put you off. It has a buffet area for cheese boards and pickles which is great with wine together with some hot food selection. The premises also has a modern outside seating area with heaters.

Unfortunately, the bar staff let this beautiful place down. The bar staff are all of foreign nationality (which is in no way a problem but they seem to have no idea of English etiquette and do not seem to respect or represent the traditional wine bar establishment. When ordering a bottle of wine, I approached the bar and simply asked "can I have a glass of white wine" and the bartender responded with "please" ushering me to repeat the word "please". I was so surprised at this and there was a large queue that I just wanted to get my wine and go outside but I couldn't believe the attitude he had towards his customer. I made a polite request, "can I have....". The bar staff also seem to be smothered in tattoos (not that I have anything against this) and dress how they want to such as wearing death metal t-shirts, big beards and piercings. The glass collector outside looked weather beaten with a cigarette hanging out his mouth and only wanted to shift his weight and push past you to collect the glasses. The staff just do not seem to represent or reflect the type of clientele that enter the bar which is a bad message. I also asked one bar member about one of the white wine specials on the blackboard and he replied that he hadn't tried it. The staff are there to simply open bottles and do not know their wines.

I first came here 3 years ago on a Saturday night and was drinking in the outside area when a homeless man happened to come into the outside area and ask some people for change. He was harmless and probably well into his 50's. One of the Brazilian bar staff (who was showing off martial arts moves to his colleagues an hour earlier) came out, punched the homeless man in the head and threw him over the bins cutting the homeless mans head. About 5 customers went up to the bar member and confronted him telling him he was out of order and that was unacceptable while some customers attended to the homeless man's cuts.

The owners or management seriously need to address their staff on their behaviour and etiquette as this is a central London bar where tourists and city workers want to relax and take a break with a glass of wine, not to witness violence and be told off for not saying "please". I would have given this bar a 5/5 if it wasn't for this.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank realenglishnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,564 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    946
    498
    70
    27
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
sthelensuk
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“unique bar”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Fantastic atmospheric bar situated just off the strand near charing cross station.We visited here on a saturday night so it was heaving but great vibe,can recommend the port from the barrels at the back of the bar.Never eaten here but will next time,totally unique place give it a go if your in the area.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank chesterefc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wine me, dine me, 69 me”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Popped down for lunch as we work nearby. Food was excellent. Very generous portions and good value for money. You can see all the food laid out before your order so its nice and quick and you know what you are getting. Great bottle of pinot noir that was too easy to drink and also well priced. Inside, it takes a while for your eyes to adjust to the darkness but it’s an intimate dining/drinking experience with candles on every table. Outside would be lovely on a warm day. Suitable for couples or groups of friends. Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 929PhilC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A quaint and quirky place to eat”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

A lively atmosphere in a dark cellar lit with candles. It takes a time for your eyes to adjust to the low light, so I would suggest you take a few minutes before choosing what to eat.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tyto2820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Always reliable, always a winner”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Love coming back to this place and this time it was no different. It is always full, busy, buzzing and yet service remains excellent, food consistent and wine affordable. We had pork pie with cornichons and cheese platter, washed down with some lovely red from South Australia. I love the ambience of this place, the fact that it is not snooty, and it continues to do what it does best in reliable fashion, over many years at least that I have been coming here. Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sunny t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gordon's Wine Bar also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Gordon's Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing