We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Andy. w.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Tasca Covent Garden - CLOSED

La Tasca Covent Garden
Price range: $13 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Covent Garden
Description: Three floors restaurant divided into bar area with football table and 3 floors of dinning area, Spanish music, ideal for groups and couples.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Andy. w.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

Overall an extremely nice restaurant with friendly helpful staff and very good food and a congenial atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Review collected in partnership with La Tasca

Helpful?
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LatascaCovent G, Manager at La Tasca Covent Garden, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Hola Andy! Thank you for lovely comments and we are pleased you enjoyed your visit. We have passed your kind words to the team.We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,012 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    273
    196
    144
    161
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Staff!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

Just by luck we popped into La Tasca while in Covent Garden. In fact we had reservations else where which turned bad and we walked out so our mood wasn't great as we were looking forward to the 'other place' all week.

We did a quick Time Out search for restaurants in the area and her it was... LA TASCA!

There were no tables immediately available but the Spanish hostess who was wonderful took our names and suggested we prepare for our Saturday night with a drink at the bar while we wait. She was the switch of mood for us...! I had a champagne cocktail and my husband a Sol and in 15 minutes were seated.

The service was great and the staff attentive and friendly!

for £39 we had 2 alcoholic drinks each, and 7 tapas... and the food was fabulous.

We will definitely be going there again

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Elena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LatascaCovent G, Manager at La Tasca Covent Garden, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Hola Elena. Thank you for lovely comments and we are pleased you enjoyed your meal. We have passed your kind words to Harli. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge
1 review
“Hen night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

The service and food excellent. We had a large number of ladies on a Hen Night we were very noisey but The Restaurant just took it in there stride. Brilliant highly recommend La Tasca.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Review collected in partnership with La Tasca

Helpful?
Thank Philippa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LatascaCovent G, Manager at La Tasca Covent Garden, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Hola Philippa. Thank you for lovely comments and we are pleased you enjoyed your meal. We have passed your kind words to the team. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“The Jury's out on this one ...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

We booked a table for a friend's birthday on Friday night. On entering the restaurant there was a bar area where people were waiting to be seated. Obviously with it being a Friday night it was fairly busy. Lovely staff but not sure how they expected to run a restaurant to the best of their ability when there was such a huge language barrier! Not one of them had a good enough command of English to hold down any kind of meaningful conversation regarding table booking/drinks etc. Also it really helps if you know a bit about drinks if you're going to get a job behind a bar. On asking for a glass of white wine I was presented with a bottle of Rose! I could have quite easily walked off without paying for it too as the "bar tender" would never have noticed! In fact they all seemed a bit distracted / confused "tit in a trance" springs to mind.

We did however get served reasonably quickly despite the volume of guests. The food which arrived looked and tasted great. The main course we ordered however was far too small and if we had not had starters we would most certainly have left hungry. We also managed to get a free bottle of Cava with a voucher downloaded from the internet. Strangely no dessert was offered. This could be a great restaurant but it's the little things that let it down. Staff that can communicate with guests would be a huge plus as they would then be in a position to discuss the menu. One or two of our group had never eaten Spanish food before and could have done with a few tips. Not a bad experience but there are definitely a few things that need to be tweaked here.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LatascaCovent G, Manager at La Tasca Covent Garden, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Hola Helen, I am very sorry to hear of the disappointment of your visit. We are glad you enjoyed the overall experience but we were concerned to hear your comments about the communication. I would be most grateful if you could contact me at the restaurant on 02072409062 or e-mail me your contact number to latasca.coventgarden@latasca.co.uk so I can discuss the matter with you in more detail and hopefully resolve in a satisfactory manner. We look forward to hearing from you’
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sat 29/3/14 evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

Very tasty food, lots of choice, very friendly service, good atmosphere but a little noisy as it was very busy and the choice of music in the background was
noisy as well.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Review collected in partnership with La Tasca

Helpful?
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LatascaCovent G, Manager at La Tasca Covent Garden, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Hola Wendy.Thank you for lovely comments and we are pleased you enjoyed your meal. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tasca Covent Garden also viewed

 
London, England
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing