We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dumpling's!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jen Cafe

Jen Cafe
Ranked #10,823 of 22,204 Restaurants in London
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Soho
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“dumpling's!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

I never was a dumplings fan before but this place has been an absolute revelation!!
Huge portions and very cheap. The place is packed and it may happen to share a table but the food is worth it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Seanbra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    71
    21
    12
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great little place for a quick cup of tea and dumplings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

This little nondescript place in Chinatown may not look like much but don't let it stop you from entering and sitting down on a simple stool for some of the best dumplings I have eaten for a while. Be sure to try the steamed Beijing dumplings, great flavour and texture! I personally am not overly impressed with the fried dumplings (they are good, but not as good as the steamed ones), however my wife likes them. Also, the duck is excellent.

All in all, this place should not be chosen for its great decor or beautiful views (because it has neither), however it is wonderful to pop in for a hot cup of Jasmine tea and tasty Chinese 'fastfood', whilst watching people stroll by outside on their way into or out of Chinatown. Service is speedy and so far has always been good and friendly! The bill also won't rock your wallet too much as you get very good value for money!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Starfield11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camerino, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gorgeous green chinese... restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

I stayed here with a friend of mine for a lunch break. We tried three kind of dumplings and, with my surprise, they were whole awesome.
Fantastic, I surely came back there to try all the stuff!
Very cheap... don't worry.
No credit card.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Oronzo26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't be cheated”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

I bought some hand-made dumplings in this restaurant. They told me they are going to make it and I can collect in 1 hour later. And when I go back, they told me they don't know who I am and they don't like to give me back my dumplings or money. What a cheating restaurant !!! I lost money, GUYS please don't go this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Dumplings in the World”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

With months of experience in China, the dumplings made in Jen Cafe were without a doubt the best we ever had.
Simple - no fuss, small plastic chairs, just sit, eat and enjoy!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank E G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jen Cafe also viewed

London, England
London, England
 
London, England
 

Been to Jen Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing