We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food quality could do with some improvement”

Patara Fine Thai Restaurant South Kensington
Reserve with OpenTable
Patara Fine Thai Restaurant South Kensington is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,775 of 22,674 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $32 - $63
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Chelsea
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food quality could do with some improvement”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Good service and ambiance. But food quality need improvement from a value for money perspective. A standard base sauce (commercial/tinned) seemed used for the four dishes we ordered. One gets a better palette of flavours off streetside vendors in Bangkok.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Arif M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    86
    20
    4
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Thai delicious”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We went by accident to this place as hit was a mere block from the flat we were renting in Chelsea. What a great find. It is very small but the food was wonderful. Mild Thai but very flavorful. Nightly recommend this place

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jarvis50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small hight quality Thai restaurant”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

If you are into fine Thai cuisine try this small restaurant.
I like that they have a limited menu card.

The PJ's Bar next door has some great cocktail...

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beSoren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A good Thai experience in London”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Our experience in Patara overall was a good one. The atmosphere is quite authentic & the layout is really cozy.
Coming to the important thing..the food is great!! Its cooked to perfection & they have quite some varieties. I would recommend the lamb & the duck. Oh, and vegetarian plates are awesome.
Downside would be the service, they can definitely do better & its a bit pricy.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dinahsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
184 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Great ambiance, décor and food - service needs improving”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Great ambiance, décor and food any my only complaint would be the mains arrived cold. The rest of the table were half finished their cold meal before my coconut rice was served.

I'd put that down to the service which was friendly but haphazard as they looked understaffed.

Will definitely return and recommend to friends and family. Hopefully they'll have more waitrons by then.

Gluten and celiac friendly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LondonRhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Patara Fine Thai Restaurant South Kensington also viewed

 

Been to Patara Fine Thai Restaurant South Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing