We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for pizza and pasta” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Strada - Blackheath

Strada - Blackheath
Ranked #12,335 of 22,204 Restaurants in London
Price range: $37 - $50
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Surrounded by quaint boutique shops in the heart of Blackheath village, Strada is a stylish and modern Italian restaurant serving straightforward and freshly prepared dishes full of flavour. One of the many contemporary Italian restaurants that can be enjoyed throughout the country's high streets, Strada in Blackheath is divided throughout two floors and features an opening glass front, inspiring a bright and beautiful dining experience. This chic interior design is complemented by the irresistible menus of traditional Italian favourites. You can enjoy hand stretched pizzas, fresh pastas and risotto, as well as grilled meat and fish dishes.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
86 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great for pizza and pasta”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Every time I visit Blackheath I love to meet a few friends at Strada for an informal Italian meal. Although it's part of a chain, the food quality is relatively good and we always leave with a satisfied look on our faces. We usually start with the tasty castelvetrano olives,followed by a pizza or a plate of pasta. The fiorentina pizza is one of our favourites and suitable for vegetarians too. The Minini Primitivo is a good value far money red wine and if there's still some space left ill try one of the desserts. When Monica's there service is slways very good.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    30
    12
    8
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely experience at difficult time.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I visited here before an important hospital appointment. It was early lunchtime, just after midday, with just one other person seated. Service from beginning to end was very attentive. My husband chose seafood pasta for his main course and he commented that he'd once had the dish in Aldo Zilli's restaurant in Soho about 15 years ago. He was told it was Zilli's signature dish at the time and this Strada version was the best he'd had since then. Just about sums up our whole experience. Thank you very much Strada.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank karlh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Pretty good for a high street multiple”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

Our 2nd trip to this one in 4 weeks. Very good experience both times.
Nestled in the quaint Blackheath village and close to local transport hubs, it has a lovely ambience. It is on the smallish side though, and fills up quiclky; so I would recommend going there early. We were very well looked after as we had gone early (6pm). Monica was in-charge last night and the service was spot-on.
I would recommend the Gamberoni for a starter or the Funghi al forno if you want vegetarian. For mains, the Pollo milanese used to be fabulous but no longer--they have gone and changed it slightly and you only get some spaghetti with your chicken. I would suggest the chargrilled chicken with mushrooms instead- you can ask for fries instead of the rosemary potatoes and they will happily oblige. As to their pizzas, I am afraid we have not tried any and so cannot report on them. To finish--the limoncello dessert is very good as are the chocolate fondant and the affogato.
We have been to Strada restaurants in Bath and Central London but unfortunately our experiences there have been less than good as regards the service. And hence, these 2 recent visits to the Blackheath restaurant have been in stark contrast, and worthy of flagging up and reviewing.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank london_dr_sk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
110 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Service was non existent so left”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Went for an early dinner with our son. Arrived at 530, one other table, three waiters- didn't start well, no real welcome, then waited more than 10mins for a drink whilst one waiter was sitting reading, another was on the phone chatting and the third was stacking the fridge with soft drinks.

Tried calling the waiters - one saw us and told the other waiter who then ignored us.

We gave up and left explaining why- and that I'd be emailing Strada to complain- no apology and the other waiter was still chatting on the phone.

Really disappointing!

Went to Cafe Rouge- great service and had a lovely evening.

Helpful?
1 Thank Flyinmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Really good for a quick lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Nice place conveniently located just a minute walk away from Blackheath train station. The staff apparently are all Italian which is nice. They are all very friendly and helpful. Loved the pizza there. Wish they had a bigger selection though. The other dishes were just ok. Would go back especially for some of the 10 pound lunch deals.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kostas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Strada - Blackheath also viewed

London, England
London, England
 

Been to Strada - Blackheath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing