We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thai garden cafe,museum st. London” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thai Garden Cafe - CLOSED

Thai Garden Cafe
Price range: $15 - $41
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Bloomsbury
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Thai garden cafe,museum st. London”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Came across this by chance after a visit to the British Museum.Started with steamed dumplings and seafood soup.i thought the soup might be a bit overpriced,at £7.50,but it was full of shellfish and had the most fragrant taste and smell,well worth the price.Followed this with a flat noodles and chicken and accompanied by a beef Thai green curry.add in one bottle of beer.cost £33 but well worth it ,given the excellent quality of the food and the attentive service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank drjplawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    28
    11
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“good location near British Museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Don't be put off by the apparent size from the street view, once inside this Thai restaurant is a bit like the Tardis inside with an extensive space at the back which seated our party of six comfortably. An extensive menu with all the usual favourites. Tasty food and friendly service. we enjoyed our evening and would certainly return

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank eddie51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
149 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Very very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Excellent little restaurant just across from the British museum, very clean, the staff are attentive and not in your face, good menu to suit all pallets, we were a table of eight and we all had something different and not one complaint.
A great find in central London.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Teamkarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“What a find!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Called in here one evening when we couldn't be bothered to venture into the city. And I'm so pleased we did. The food was lovely, and very reasonably priced (which was a bit surprising considering the area it serves). It was spicy but not in a 'blow your head off' sort of way that Thai often is. We had spicy noodles and 2 main courses plus beers and it came to £32. I can't fault the food and I will certainly be going back soon. If you are in or around the British Museum / Great Russell Street area, this is definitely a place to try.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic food good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

3 of us ate here in July 2013. Food was very tasty and reasonably priced, around £75 for a two course meal with wine. Definitely go again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cardinalbadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Garden Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing