We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Japanese”
Review of Sake no Hana

Sake no Hana
Reserve a Table
Bookatable
Ranked #1,934 of 28,630 Restaurants in London
Price range: $38 - $166
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: St. James's
Description: Sake no Hana bar and restaurant is housed on the first floor of a modernist Grade II listed building in the heart of St James, offering modern Japanese dining. The a la carte menu provides a variety of hot and cold appetisers, charcoal grill, Toban and Kamameshi dishes, while sushi and sashimi are... prepared to order at the 13 seat sushi bar. A carefully selected list of sakes, Japanese whiskeys and other wines, spirits and liqueurs complement the dishes offered in the restaurant. Sake no Hana's interiors were designed my esteemed architect Kengo Kuma and the bar includes a beautiful futuristic chandelier, offering the perfect space for post work cocktails. The bar is also a beautiful space for private parties of up to 60 guests for a standing canape event, or can host up to 25 guests seated for an exclusive private dining experience. Monday to Thursday, 12pm - 2.45pm, 6pm - 11pm; Friday, 12pm - 2.45pm, 6pm - 11.30pm, Saturday 12pm - 4pm, 6pm - 11.30pm
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I went with my family as a birthday lunch and we all really enjoyed ourselves. We got the 7 courses and everything was very fresh and interesting. It's a great way to try lots of different things. Our waiters were really friendly and we got to try a few different types of sake and learn a bit about them.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Emil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (981)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 982 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Came here for dinner for a friends birthday in September. Surprisingly quite a few dishes that we ordered never turned up. We had to ask numerous members of staff, no exaggeration, around ten times where our food was. We ordered at around 9, an hour and a half later the dishes were still missing. When a lady finally came over to our table, instead of apologising and chasing our dishes, she accused us of never ordering in the first place and instead trying to just place more orders for food. Her tone was very rude and in the end those dishes never came. After the millionth time of asking you would expect if the food order hadn't been placed to then place it but no. Another negative of this restaurant is that if you bring a birthday cake they charge £5 per head to cut and eat the cake. After spending a high sum on dinner this was rather surprising and disappointing. Would not recommend Sake No Hana to friends after our experience and I would advise if you're planning on coming here for a birthday go somewhere else.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rebeccaKH3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacation04604874231, Manager at Sake no Hana, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear Rebecca,

Thank you for dining with us at Sake No Hana. We appreciate the feedback on our service standards. We take comments such as these very seriously, and you can rest assured they are being addressed.

Thank you, and we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Sincerely,


Anna Kuzmina
Maitre’D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The food is just amazing. We ordered a 7 course menu that we could share for two people and including house cocktails and the price was not that high.
The service was very kind, and the ambience very good.
The place is very modern style, and I consider this is an excellent choice for truly Japanese food in St James London.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank 795erickv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2019 via mobile

We went for an impromptu lunch and were greeted with a smile and seated immediately. A lovely setting, with a pleasant buzz about the place.
Overall service was slow. Had to chase our food and asked for water to be refilled several times. The food was very good although the avocado in some of the rolls was brown and therefore looked unappetising.
Didn’t like having to take the tiny lift to the loos. Too dark and claustrophobic.
So I left feeling a little underwhelmed. With so many places in London for good sushi, I feel this ranked as average in comparison and I don’t think I’d go back.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Telgip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2019 via mobile

All in all a great meal, would be fantastic for business dinners and parties. High quality grade food and very tasty. Only reason I didnt give 5 stars is because we got a bad bottle of sake, apart from that really thought the place was cool and vibrant and will go again to hopefully give it 5 stars!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank DGT_Singapore_Living
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sake no Hana also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Sake no Hana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing