We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant food”
Review of Las Iguanas

Las Iguanas
Ranked #801 of 22,692 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Brazilian, Latin, Mexican, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Southbank
Description: At Las Iguanas, food is our passion. We rise at the crack of dawn to unload boxes of top-quality, fresh British produce. Then our chefs add carefully sourced ingredients from around the world, to conjure delicious, authentic South American food, made with passion, love and lots of Latin magic. We are the only restaurant to produce Cachaca from our own sugar cane plantation near Rio and we use it to make the best Caipirinhas this side of the Atlantic. Alongside our Caipirinhas we offer a full range of cocktails, non-alcoholic coolers, minerals & juices, beers, cider and wines. Join us for Happy Hour 12pm to 7pm and 10pm-late daily, and all day Sunday to Wednesday for a range of 2 for 1 offers on our signature cocktails and coolers. At Las Iguanas we hope you'll try new things, discover delights and favourites along the way, but mostly enjoy the unique taste of Latin American hospitality.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant food”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Eaten here a couple of times now and the quality of food is the same great tasting food every time. The staff are really friendly and its not too harsh on the wallet. The only thing is that on every occasion, i have had to wait atleast 40 mins for a table (understandable, busy saturday nights). When this happens you are given a number which is fine. But the board that shows the number is only viewable from in front of the busy bar which is directly opposite the entrance, makes it very awkward and not much personal space, treding on toes situation. While we were eating the light would go bright and then dim and bright and dim. this didn't bother me, just thinking that it was a bit odd.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peaks90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    468
    420
    165
    75
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Corby, Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
80 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A very busy place!”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Me and my friend turned up for a late bite to eat and a drink. The place was very busy but that only added to the atmosphere. The staff were great. Very friendly and personable. We ordered our drinks and food and did not have to wait long. I decided to order something I had never ordered before but stupidly didn't like it but my friend loved his and I will admit, his was lovely. Don't get me wrong, this is no fault of the restaurant. But I was very impressed with how they managed it. They asked me if everything was ok, if i wanted to take it away with me or I could of ordered something else. But i was fine to finish my drinks. I will go back, I will just have to stick with what i know. Very happy customers.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NI
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Awful, awful, awful service”
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

From the outside, Las Iguanas looks like a classy place to eat. It was a sunny day and most of the tables outside were busy with drinkers and a couple of girls enjoying a meal. Inside was half empty. We went inside and asked for a table for two. We were told the wait would be 20 minutes and we were welcome to sit in the bar area and buy a drink. When asked if we could sit outside, we were told that food wasn't served outside. When pointing-out the two girls with plates of food we were ignored. Whilst waiting at the bar to be served, which was an impossible task on it's own, a party of three came in and asked for a table. According to my girlfriend, there were 17 empty tables in the restaurant. Then. The table of three were seated. I asked why they had been seated first and I was told because they were a bigger party. I mentioned the 17 empty tables and was told that we could be seated because "staff have breaks, innit." It was time to leave and find somewhere which would be grateful for our custom.

In short, I can't review the food as we didn't get that far. I can't review the drinks as it was impossible to get served, but I can review the staff attitude and attitude and verify it is awful.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Flick1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LasIguanasHQ, Owner at Las Iguanas, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
I'd be grateful if you would contact me on lucy@iguanas.co.uk with a phone number, your name and trip advisor ID so I can ask our area manager to follow up on your experience. My email is lucy@iguanas.co.uk. Thank you. Lucy- Las Iguanas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food but noisy and slowish service”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Delicious food, reasonable value for money. Too few staff, therefore as it was busy service a little slow. Had nearly finished our food before drinks arrived. Dislike the practice of applying an "optional" service charge which in reality we could not avoid paying without creating a fuss. I prefer to set my own tip level.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank StephenandRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great place to meet up with friends”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Good food, reasonable prices and friendly atmosphere are enough to bring us back to Las Iquanas, where we met up with a friend we hadn't seen for quite awhile. Unfortunately, since it's a popular gathering spot it was hard to have a conversation without raising our voices, but it was still a great place to get together for a casual night out.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank bawstindad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Iguanas also viewed

 

Been to Las Iguanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing