We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An American at an English pub”
Review of The Thomas Cubitt

The Thomas Cubitt
Reserve a Table
2
Sun, 9/15
8:00 PM
Ranked #1,494 of 28,444 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $62
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Belgravia
Transit: Victoria Station is a 10 minute walk away & Sloane Square tube is a 15 minute walk.
Description: Elegant and understated, The Thomas Cubitt in Belgravia embodies the epitome of the English aristocracy: restraint, reserve and royal connections. Named after the master builder The Thomas Cubitt attracts the Boden-clad Belgravia brigade as well as posh food lovers all the way from Primrose Hill and St John's Wood. A chic place for Sunday roasts and cosy evening meals, the first floor dining room is decorated with pearly grey walls and oak flooring, and the light-filled, wood-panelled ground floor bar is ideal for pre-dinner drinks.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I made a dinner reservation and upon arrival was escorted to an upstairs dining room
with my husband. We ordered wine and looked at he menu
and did not see anything that appealed to us. We wanted a cheeseburger and were told that we could not order that bc we were not sitting downstairs. By the way, the upstairs dining room and downstairs pub share the same kitchen. Clearly his establishment is not into customer service. We were stuck with the non-pub menu which was pricier and not as appealing. So my advice to non-Brits, if you go here and expect to eat pub food, do not allow them to sit you upstairs in Siberia!

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,003)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 1,003 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We got a same day reservation - pub was nearly full. Both had the meat pie of the day - delicious. Superior beer options. Service was fast and pleasant. Has an upper-class neighborhood feeling - I highly recomment The Thomas Cubitt.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank MyraNBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FedericaOrsini, General Manager at The Thomas Cubitt, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear MyraNBOob,

Very grateful for your kind words.

thank you very much, hope to see you soon again

Kind Regards
Federica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Enjoyed a delicious, beautifully presented lunch here with a friend in the elegant upstairs dining room. Service is attentive and informative and the food and wine were of high quality. It’s not so cheap but well worth it for a treat.
Easy to get to from Sloane Square.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Frances B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FedericaOrsini, General Manager at The Thomas Cubitt, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Frances B

thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at The Thomas Cubitt.

I am really pleased that you had good time and the team looked after you.

Looking forward to see you back again

Best wishes
Federica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2019 via mobile

My partner and I have visited the Thomas Cubitt a number of times and always been happy with the experience. However, it had been a while since our last visit and upon returning this time around we could see there had been a number of changes in their priorities.

We were seated on one of the tables outside which at first was absolutely fine. For those who have been before will know, there are a few tables in front of the pub and then some down the side. For those in front of the pub there is a roped smoking area to the side, but this area is far enough away not to interfere with your meal.

As we started to get served our food we noticed that the staff were speaking to people on the tables surrounding us and asking them to give up their seats. They were then removing the tables and chairs and extending the smoking area. Eventually, the couple next to us finished their meal and as another two people went to take their seats, they were advised these seats were being removed too.

When they queried why, the response was that they had a lot of people now drinking at the pub and therefore they needed to remove the tables outside so they could extend the smoking area. Shortly after, and while still eating we were told that we’d have to give up our tables too. When asked what they planned to do, they said they’d find us a table inside instead (note: there were no tables available inside).

So this resulted with us sitting in the middle of approximately 30 people, over half of who were stood smoking directly at our eye level. It appears that the Thomas Cubitt values packing as many people in (or rather out in their flexible smoking area) drinking than they do providing decent customer service and a good experience to those already eating there.

The staff came across as very dismissive and as though we weren’t important at all now that they had a chance to bring more money in with people drinking. A particular ‘highlight’ of our meal was when a man joined the group stood next to our table in full cycle gear and his sweaty, Lycra wearing arse was about two feet away from my face. Only bettered by his mate then holding his cigarette at eye level and regularly blowing smoke into my partners face.

This was always a great little pub but whether it’s a change of management or a change in strategy, it’s most definitely not been for the better.

Date of visit: August 2019
1  Thank pep_freit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FedericaOrsini, General Manager at The Thomas Cubitt, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Pep_freit,

I am really sorry to read such a bad experience you had at the Thomas Cubitt.

Please accept my sincere apology.

I would like to discuss this further with you, if you could kindly contact me directly at federica@cubitthouse.co.uk

Kind Regards
Federica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2019

Always a good place to meet friends.people know it so it is often packed. Having a coffee on a Sunday morning is also a good option...

Date of visit: August 2019
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Eric O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Thomas Cubitt also viewed

 

Been to The Thomas Cubitt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing